Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cross, David: Crossing The Tracks

Most of you have come across the name David Cross in your travels through progressive rock. Best known as the violinist in King Crimson from 1972 to 1974, he has played on some great albums including Larks’ Tongues In Aspic, Red and Starless And Bible Black. Besides his work with the mighty Crimson he has released a steady stream of solo albums beginning with his 1987 debut titled Low Flying Aircraft and culminating with two releases this year, one of which is titled Crossing The Tracks. This is a true solo album as Cross’ dominates on every track but he does have help from keyboardist Jürgen Engler and assorted female vocalists.

This is quite different for Cross as the jazz fusion elements are minimized and a more varied approach is taken. Folk, world, pop, jazz and rock elements can all be heard in these tracks, both vocal and instrumental drenched in Cross’ excellent violin work. The ethereal yet dense soundscape of “White Bird” has psychedelic and pop leanings and features a fine vocal performance from Sonja Kraushofer. East Indian music is also touched upon. On “Kalahari Fantasy” more East Indian touches offer an aura of mystique as Cross’ lush violin soundscapes are incredibly moody and almost other worldly at times. The instrumental “Prince Of Darkness” ventures form heavy and dense to softer moments and is quite a creative piece. ”Love Me” features the enchanting vocals of Ofra Haza and continues with a nice melody and more sublime violin layering from Cross. “Into The Oblique” has a somewhat darker and unsettling vibe, almost menacing in scope with much tension woven into the sound design. Another cool track for sure.

Although these tunes do not stray very far from their initial course and headings, the musicianship, especially Cross’ violin playing, is very good. That and some fine melodies and moods make Crossing The Tracks well worth investigating.

A Purple Pyramid Records release.

Track Listing:
1. White Bird
2. Kalahari Fantasy
3. For What It’s Worth
4. Prince Of Darkness
5. Love Me
6. Into The Oblique
7. The Light Inside Me
8. Shifting Sands
9. Hero Of Kingdom
10. Hallelujah
11. The Key
12. Shadows Do Know

Added: January 4th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 747
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by