Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sproingg: Sproingg

Let the weirdness begin. Sproingg, with two German members and one American, delivered their debut self-titled album in 2017. Yes, this is a rather late review but as they say it’s better late than never. The trio consists of Prudi Bruschgo (guitars), Erik Feder (drums, percussion) and Johannes Korn (Chapman sticks, electric violin). This is some strange music to say the least although I will tell you I have heard a lot weirder. Although at times you will be hard pressed to derive melodic enjoyment from this album, there is no denying these musicians are crafty and creative improvisers.

As with the music the song titles are just as strange as noted by the first track “Sugarwax Nailface”. Chiming guitar chords and an off kilter drum rhythm propel the song forward as the guitar takes on a fuzzier tone. The elastic-like sound effects in “And The Mountain Rat Saw God” makes for an abstract and loosely structured beginning. When the groove starts there’s a hint of old school country and western and the percussion is very heavy. Razor-like guitar chords slice and dice before the music gats a little spacey with that slow burning guitar eating up the soundscape. Pretty cool if you ask me. The stop/starts and guitar and drum interaction in the avant-like “Homunculous Funkulous” (the guitar work is really good) and the wild psychedelic-like violin and guitar weaving in “No Place For Children” are pretty cool as well. Space rock fans should dig it as well. More spacey textures of guitar and violin can be heard on the angular “Krummfutter”. Some metallic elements crop up as well. The next couple tracks; “Mückmucke” and “Alligator Peak” further explore their metal aspirations.

Sure this is pretty weird but it’s also pretty darn good and the creativity expressed by all three musicians is really quite marvelous. Check it out if you are at all into more adventurous fare.

Track Listing:
1. Sugarwax Nailface
2. And The Mountain Rat Saw God
3. Homunculous Funkulous
4. No Place For Children
5. Krummfutter
6. Mückmucke
7. Alligator Peak
8. The Aliens Have Landed, And I’m One Of Them

Added: January 3rd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band On Bandcamp
Hits: 598
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by