Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cyrcus Flyght: The Clueless Caravan

German band Cyrcus Flyght started to get their wings around 2012 when leader Uwe Fleischhauer (guitar) along with Kai-Uwe Broek (drums) got together with likeminded musicians; Andreas Bönecke (bass guitar), Izzy D’Ambrosio (vocals) and Olaf Gersch (keyboards). The band’s debut album titled The Clueless Caravan was released on May 17, 2018.

The disc opens with a couple of real earworms. “At the End of All Time” starts the disc with one of the catchiest tunes here. This song would be an almost perfect fit for FM radio. D’Ambrosio’s midrange vocals are excellent, never getting into the high pitched theatrics that so many vocalists seem to do. Nice guitar work highlights the heavy “Finger on the Trigger, another melodic gem.

One of my favourites has to be “Endless Fall”, the longest and most diverse track on the album. A shimmering keyboard figure and wonderful backing vocals begin the piece as superb drums and slowly realized guitar bending begin in earnest. Soon a mixture of heavy guitar crunch and galloping riffs add to the dramatics. Then the pace slows and takes on a jazzy aura with the keyboards and vocals. The heaviness and more introspective mellowness weave their magic spell as the song traverses through a varied and colourful soundscape. Even some fusion in the guitar work can be heard. The East Indian guitar work and vocals in the mysterious and heavy sounding “Twilight of Sin” makes for another excellent track. Some lovely keyboards and synth accompany the piece. If you want to get the adrenaline pumping the hard driving riffs and beat in “Walk the Thin Line” should do quite well. The neoclassical guitar shredding and hard rock bluesy motifs will also perk up your ears. A raging organ solo completes the package.

I am very impressed with The Clueless Caravan. There is no reason why this band shouldn’t be on any rock or metal fan’s playlist. As far as the prog goes, there is more than enough of that to go around as well.

Track Listing:
1. At the End of All Time (5:06)
2. Finger on the Trigger (5:07)
3. Endless Fall (9:08)
4. Twilight of Sin (7:09)
5. Walk the Thin Line (4:26)
6. Devil’s Daughter (5:09)
7. Das Erste Geschöpf (3:08)
Bonus Tracks
8. Finger am Abzug (5:08)
9. Am Ende der Zeit (8:05)

Added: January 1st 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1221
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by