Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seasons Of Time: Welcome To The Unknown

Seasons Of Time is a German neo progressive rock band which formed in Bremerhaven, Germany in 1993. In 1997 they released their debut album Behind The Mirror but in 2010 the band disbanded. Four years later the band resurfaced and released Closed Doors To Open Plains and more recently their third album titled Welcome To The Unknown. For me, that title held true as this is the first time I have ever heard the band and I have to say this album has been a pleasant surprise. Bands like Arena, Pendragon, Marillion, Pink Floyd and Genesis have provided Seasons Of Time with sources of inspiration.

The opening track “Toward The Horizon” provides layers of excellent guitar work and diverse keyboard sounds. The synths are melodic and the guitar gives some of the riffs a mild crunch. The Gilmouresque leads reminded me a little of The Division Bell’s “What Do You Want From Me”. The vocals will likely be an acquired taste due to the noticeable accent but they have really grown on me after two or three listens. The backing vocals are really good as well. “Plans To Make Plans” has a new wave quality with razor-like stabs of electric guitar and is overall a really catchy track. “Dreams Of A Madman” begins with a shimmering Saga-like keyboard motif followed by some nicely layered guitar. I hear some Clive Nolan/Pendragon as well and the guitar solo is particularly nice. As a matter of fact the guitar work throughout the album is outstanding. The cool robotic effects on the vocals also work rather well. The album’s epic track is the fourteen minute “Joana” and begins with a textured moodiness, nicely orchestrated before the bombast starts in earnest. Heavy progressive riffs and soaring guitar add to the song’s considerable catchiness. Just an excellent track.

Seasons Of Time have released a very nice melodic prog album with Welcome To The Unknown. I just hope the band can stay to together to release a few more.

The band is:
Dirk Berger (bass, keyboards and vocals)
Florian Wenzel (guitars)
Julian Hielscher (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Toward The Horizon
2. Plans To Make Plans
3. Dreams Of A Madman
4. Joana
5. Driven To Drive
6. The Last Ship

Added: January 1st 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 782
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by