Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eden's Curse: Testament-The Best of Eden's Curse

Glasgow based melodic metal act Eden's Curse have only released five studio albums, but with founding vocalist Michael Eden leaving the band after the third and Serbian powerhouse Nikola Mijic taking over for the last two, there are distinct 'eras' in the history of the band, hence the release of Testament-The Best of Eden's Curse, a 2CD retrospective that brings together the best material from all their albums, plus a wealth of bonus & acoustic tracks over on the second disc.

For those who have all the studio releases, or even their recent Live With the Curse live album, much of this material will be somewhat redundant, but for the newbie, there's a wealth of standout tracks here, including the classics "Black Widow", "Masquerade Ball", "Symphony of Sin", "Jerusalem Sleeps", "Judgement Day", "Angels & Demons", and of course the unforgettable "Jericho". The bands mix of melodic rock, progressive & power metal, and pop just sparkles with energy, and regardless of which vocalist is at the helm, the songs are instantly catchy with plenty of hooks that hit hard but stick in your brain for days. Throughout it all the shredding guitar solos and super crunchy riffs from hero Thorsten Koehne are eye popping, the expert production making everything he's done here sounding positively massive.

Plenty of extra goodies over on the bonus disk, including acoustic versions of some songs, some leftovers, and the new song "Forever", which is quite good and hopefully a sign of what's to come from the band. "Time to Breathe" is another top notch track, recorded in 2013, and Dokken fans will love the cover of "Unchain the Night". Overall, this is a great set that looks as the entire career so far of Eden's Curse, and a great first step for anyone new to the band.

Track Listing
CD1 �" The Best of Eden’s Curse:
01. Symphony of Sin
02. Masquerade Ball
03. Black Widow (Featuring Andi Deris)
04. The Great Pretender
05. Fly Away
06. No Holy Man (Featuring James LaBrie)
07. Sell Your Soul
08. Jerusalem Sleeps
09. Unconditional (Featuring Liv Kristine)
10. Judgement Day
11. Jericho
12. Unbreakable
13. Evil & Divine
14. Angels & Demons (Featuring Pamela Moore)

CD2 �" The Best Of The Bonus Tracks:
01. Forever (New Song)
02. Man against the World (2016)
03. Time To Breathe (2013)
04. Fallen From Grace (Acoustic)
05. Unchain The Night
06. Children Of The Tide (Piano)
07. Never the Sinner
08. Guardian Angel (Acoustic)
09. Prisoner of the Past
10. Sail On (Acoustic)
11. After The Love Is Gone (Acoustic)
12. Fly Away (Acoustic)
13. The Voice Inside (Acoustic)
14. Eden’s Curse (Acoustic)

Added: December 31st 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 586
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Eden's Curse: Testament-The Best of Eden's Curse
Posted by Del Sheldon on 2018-12-31 18:11:41
My Score:

Pete's review pretty much sums everything up. The last 2 studio albums were lighter and rather disappointing and even the hand picked tracks from those 2 albums for this release are fairly insipid.
As for the bonus material who wants acoustic versions certainly not me just a bunch of fillers.
But the real gem here is "Time to Breathe" not available on any studio album and possibly recorded with a different singer altogether who didn't last too long in the band.
Not really sure why this has been released and of no use to anyone who already has the first 3 albums like myself.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by