Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Karmamoi: The Day Is Done

Although I have been aware of the Italian progressive rock band Karmamoi I had yet to hear their music. So I was very happy for the chance to review the band’s latest disc titled The Day Is Done. This is a very textural and multi-layered effort, a little like Porcupine Tree in some regards. The use of atmospheric soundscapes and electronic elements gives this music both a modern edge and a throwback to the ‘70s where the likes of Pink Floyd thrived.

The album’s concept examines the people affected by the Grenfell Tower fire of 2017 in North Kensington, inspired by the plight of two Syrian boys. The band expands the concept to not just the fire but all people affected by such tragedies. The suffering and terror cannot be understated.

Lovely guitar and vocals begin the title track in a most ethereal way. The sounds are beautifully recorded bringing out all the subtleties this music possesses. Electronics attached to the drums and percussion offer a crisp arrangement and the melodic flute trills add another layer. This leads to darker vibes as the keyboards and guitar sweep across the soundstage. The vocals are really good, one of the album’s strongest attributes. The soaring guitar solos harken back to Pink Floyd. “Take Me Home” is led by pretty piano with a background trembling with a reverb effect. The guitar takes on hints of Floyd’s Dark Side Of The Moon and the lushly layered sound reminded me of that band’s classic song “Any Colour You Like”. The crashing guitar has plenty of bite and high drama and even some melodic flute joins in on the fun and offers a fantastic solo. Just a superb track. “Portrait Of A Man” is the album’s longest track offering layered keyboards and dramatic riffs. More synths lead to a slower tempo with ethereal instrumentation and crystal clear vocals. The heaviness returns with more great guitar work.

What a nice surprise The Day Is Done has been. Another classy progressive rock album to add to your collection.

Track Listing:
1. The Day Is Done
2. Take Me Home
3. Portrait Of A Man
4. Getaway
5. Running Through The Lands
6. Your Name
7. Mother’s Dirge
8. Lost Voices

Added: December 27th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 891
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by