Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Strobe: Bunker Sessions

Here is an excellent Sulatron Records release. Strobe formed in Herfordshire, UK in 1990 and released five full length albums before breaking up in 2001. This particular release titled Bunker Sessions was actually recorded in 1994. Trust Sulatron to release excellent space rock. What sets this band apart is their three guitar attack creating textured layers of guitar and associated feedback and effects. The album was recorded ‘live’ in studio at The Bunker Recording Studio with no overdubs so you can bet there will be a fair number of jams to dig into beginning with the ten minute “Sun Birth”. The rhythm section shines here laying down multiple pathways for the three guitarists to offer their trippy exploits. The chords shimmer and waver, fading in and out, sometimes heavy, sometimes more atmospheric. The high point has to be the simultaneous guitar solos weaving around each other in sublime psychedelic trippiness. On “Into Your Skin” a more conventional wisdom is adhered to in a concise three minutes. The riffs and vocals are catchy after the more spacey escapades of the previous track. With “Obsession” the guitarists enter one after the other, each weaving riffs and chords culminating in a guitar drenched sound. “Chameleon Earth” is another catchy tune with the emphasis on the drum and bass groove although the guitars are still a highlight. Another fine track is the ethereal and dreamy “Opium Dreams”, just as you would expect from such a title. Synths start the piece along with Helen’s wordless vocals and as the music develops the guitars build into a psychedelic and trippy barrage of hazy riffs that have a great depth of sound. The jam gets pretty heavy as the dreamy vocals continue to enchant.

I can’t imagine any fan of space/psychedelic rock not digging Bunker Sessions. I really look forward to hearing more of the band’s work. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Sun Birth (10:21)
2. Into Your Skin (3:13)
3. Obsession (6:09)
4. Chameleon Earth (5:10)
5. Opium Dreams (8:02)
6. Sun Death (7:53)

Added: December 22nd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 685
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by