Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fields of Troy: The Great Perseverance

Lately I have discovered a fair number of bands from Belgian, the latest being Fields of Troy, a modern rock and metal outfit with a recently released debut album titled The Great Perseverance. The five piece unit includes Louis Soenens (vocals), Sven Herssens (guitar, backing vocals), Nick Vanduynslager (guitar), Jürgen Elias (bass) and Lothar Ryheul (drums).

The Great Perseverance is a very good metal album with outstanding musicianship and led by the diverse vocal style of Soenens. His voice is as well adapted to melodic soaring as it is growls and screams (used occasionally) and really adds variety to the band’s sound.

It all begins with a short intro piece quite symphonic in nature before the heavy and rather thrashy guitars of “Dethroned” start the album with great intensity. The lead vocals are melodic and slightly gruff before throwing in some extreme styles to accentuate the heaviness that totally fits the piece. The heavy guitar riff/drum attack of “Aphasia” is another high energy rock/metal track with catchy and clean lead vocals. The catchiness continues with the riff laden “Flame in the Mirror” but this time the pace slows allowing for more atmosphere and moodiness. It’s a welcome change of pace before the music turns to its faster pacing. The chorus is really infectious and the mix of clean vocals with the odd growl is very effective. The slightly slower paced vocals and sustained guitar gives “My Temple Broken” a moodier edge that is most welcome. The band mixes these pace changes seamlessly. The album’s heaviest track is perhaps the scorching “Face the Giant” with its double bass drum attack and lightning fast riffs yet there is still time to allow for gentler atmospheres, all in the space of under five minutes. The album’s last track “Doomsayer” has the band in tight form with its technical guitar rhythms, catchy vocals and a short acoustic break that gives the track a bit more variety than your standard metal offering. The Great Perseverance is a fine debut album, quite sophisticated in approach and demonstrates why this band is one to look out for in the months and years to come.

A Painted Bass Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Intro (1:57)
2. Dethroned (4:32)
3. Aphasia (5:03)
4. Flame in the Mirror (4:30)
5. My Temple Broken (4:42)
6. Face the Giant (4:26)
7. Condemn the Unknown (5:14)
8. Shove and Pull (3:53)
9. Where Bones Have Dried (4:01)
10. Last Words (5:12)
11. Doomsayer (5:24)

Added: December 19th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 663
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by