Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Skull: The Endless Road Turns Dark

When vocalist Eric Wagner & bassist Ron Holzner decided to leave doom legends Trouble and form a new band back in 2012, an equally formidable group was formed, which they decided to call The Skull. Though it's taken them four years to create, their follow-up to their debut For Those Which Are Asleep is finally here in the form of The Endless Road Turns Dark for Tee Pee Records. Joining the former Trouble veterans are guitarists Lothar Keller & Rob Wrong plus ex-Cathedral drummer Brian Dixon .

Basically, if you loved the music of Trouble and all that bands classic Black Sabbath worship, then The Endless Road Turns Dark will be an absolute doomy delight. Chock full of massive riffing every step of the way as well as plenty of dark atmosphere, this latest from The Skull is sure to shoot to the top of every doom fans best of 2018 list (and it would have done so for me if I hadn't heard this one so late in the year), with 8 crushing examples of expertly crafted classic metal. While a track like "Breathing Underwater" shows the bands penchant for heavy psychedelia, thanks to Wagner's cagey vocals and some hazy soundscapes amid the thunderous riffing, it's the brontosaurus stomp of killer tracks like "Ravenswood", "The Longing", "As the Sun Draws Near", and the titanic title cut that really provide the most thrills here, the dual guitar attack simply pummeling with some of the most crushing riffs I've heard this year. Check out the massive closer "Thy Will Be Done" for another example of doom metal at its very finest...if you close your eyes, it's like you are listening to a long lost song from The Skull or The Skull, two classic '80s releases from Trouble.

Doom fans don't hesitate, go out and get your hands on this one immediately!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

1. The Endless Road Turns Dark 06:55
2. Ravenswood 03:51
3. Breathing Underwater 06:17
4. The Longing 04:24
5. From Myself Depart 06:00
6. As the Sun Draws Near 04:24
7. All That Remains (Is True) 05:56
8. They Will Be Done 06:10

Added: December 19th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1039
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by