Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pymlico: Nightscape

Norwegian songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Arild Brøter formed Pymlico in 2009 as a vehicle for his muse and eventually the band has morphed into what it is today. With six albums to their credit these progressive minded Norwegians have been quite prolific culminating with their latest release titled Nightscape. I first heard their album Directions (2012) followed by their 2016 release Melting Point. Both fabulous efforts. So you might be thinking is their latest up to the quality of those two albums and the answer is a resounding and unequivocal yes.

Your forty minute journey, I know it’s pretty short, begins with “Wide Awake”, a complete gem of a track. Tasty keyboards and crisp percussion builds into a mid-tempo, melodic tour d force. The guitar work is smooth and classy with hints of fusion. The fullness of the sound is enhanced by some wonderfully melodic saxophone followed by a little more crunch in the guitar riffs. The sax continues to weave through the guitar before an ending guitar solo takes the song home in grand style. The melodic prog and fusion of “Gabagool” features some of the tastiest band interplay on the disc; guitar, sax, flute, keyboards, prominent bass and crisp rhythms come together in a smooth yet creative way making for another great track. The melody has that earworm quality that I just can’t get enough of. “Tofana 10 AM” is moodier and a little more dense as the keys and guitar build into quite a ‘big’ sound. The mood is mellow on the pretty ballad “Room With A View” with lovely saxophone and a sublime melody. “Ghost Notes” offers some nice changes beginning with swells of keyboards and building electronics before a funky groove breaks out. Excellent rhythm section in this one including a fantastic drum part. The last track “Silver Arrow” has Pink Floyd-like guitar and a crisp rhythmic structure. Nice keyboard work as well.

Really, I can find no faults with Nightscape although the sound might be too clean and smooth for some. Just a great disc from Apollon Records.

Track Listing:
1. Wide Awake
2. Gabagool
3. Tofana 10 AM
4. Room With A View
5. Ghost Notes
6. Road Movie
7. Silver Arrow

Added: December 18th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1104
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by