Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Krakow: minus

Although the Norwegian band Krakow began in 2005 this is the first opportunity I have had to hear the band. Their first full length album Monolith came out in 2009 followed by diin (2012) and their latest release minus this past summer. Let’s cut to the chase, what a nice surprise this has been. minus is an excellent metal album that is not easily categorized. Progressive, doomy, atmospheric, post metal, whatever you wish to call this there is no denying the band will easily captivate those willing to give this album a chance.

The first track “Black Wandering Sun” begins with an unusual guitar progression with an off kilter edge, something this band does extremely well. Monotone vocals enter, an ideal fit for the band’s idiosyncratic sound. The guitar work is layered, fused with atmosphere and creativity. This isn’t about how many notes you can play, its more about sustain and atmosphere. Doomy riffs ease off making way for moodier soundscapes, quite dark and foreboding. The vocals in the progressive sounding “Sirens” vary from dreamlike to intense. You also get pile driving guitar riffs, crashing chords and dramatic changes in pace. The electronic buzzing throughout “The Stranger” adds another element to the band’s metal sound. Beautifully clean vocals are mixed with growls as the noisy guitar riffs pick up intensity. The band creates a dense/dark atmosphere that is truly impressive. Doom and post metal lock horns in the excellent “From Fire, From Stone” whereas the slow burning title track features layered guitar riffs slowly building throughout its nine plus minute running time. When they’re unleashed it’s a feast for the senses.

What an excellent disc this is. Dark and moody metal as only the Scandinavians can produce.

A Karisma Records release.

Band members:

René Misje (guitar, keyboards)
Kjartan Grønhaug (guitar, vocals)
Frode Kilvik (bass, vocals)
Ask Ty “Arctander” (drums, vocals)

Phil Campbell (guitar on track 1)
Iver Sandøy (performer, production, mixing)

Track Listing:
1. Black Wandering Sun
2. Sirens
3. The Stranger
4. From Fire, From Stone
5. Minus
6. Tidlaus

Added: December 2nd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 580
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by