Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Redd Land: De Tiempos Pasados (reissue)

On the first two songs, bassist-bandleader Esteban Cerioni's vocal tracks sound as though they were recorded in an ampthitheater—with 'Steban onstage and the mics up top by the rear exits. This is no live album, either; we'll have to deal with it. And as this band was formerly named after said bassist, one would expect his Fender Jazz & Precision and Rickenbacker basses to be up-mixed with the fortitude of a kaiju settling down to dine on some poor unsuspecting radio tower. That's not the case, and as if a surefire sign that De Tiempos Pasados ("Of Past Times") was recorded in the '80s was needed, nearly every instrument soaks in excess studio gloss until it's glistening. And so it was—1983, that is. (Well, there's always room for exaggeration!). While Redd Land is very much a band with several core players, as opposed to a project, no less than thirteen musicians help shape this colorful fusion-rock hybrid, two-thirds of which pays tribute to the players' art rock influences.

De Tiempos Pasados kicks off with quite the rocker in "Parto." Turn up the volume (not into the red) to get a better angle on Cerioni's bass skill, as he's way above average, no doubt influenced by the likes of Clarke, Lee and Rutherford. Daniel "Tuerto" Wirzi is the first of three drummers to sound off, all of whom are more than competent. "El Loco" isn't a chaotic exercise into Zeuhl or even Crimson territory, but an atmospheric detour off which interlaced bass & guitar textures dangle. "Serpentario" brings Ernesto Dmitruk's blistering lead guitar to the fore, and guest keyboardist Lito Vitale—yes, the same Lito Vitale of MIA fame!—slithers his way into the proceedings with some spectacular Mini-Moog impressions of the fusion kind. Lito sticks around for "Tan Lejos, Esta Tarde," but what gets the saliva flowing is, again, Dmitruk's tasteful lead guitar; notewise and tonewise, Ashra's Manuel Göttsching comes to mind. Vitale returns once more to lay down a nice staccato synth accompaniment on "Proa Al Infinito," while on this cut Cerioni shares the mic with second guest guitarist Carlos Garófalo, who takes the first verse. Concerning the second half of the album, classic prog influences [read: Yes—Genesis—Camel] are more prominent, yet there are still plenty of instrumental stretches to sink one's teeth into. It's all good: this is one of Viajero Inmovil's better reissues, production quirks notwithstanding—if Lito Vitale's on it, it must be.


1. Parto (No Permitas) (Childbirth ~ Don't Let Them Choose For You) 3'23
2. El Loco (Crazy Man) 4'52
3. Serpentario (Serpentine) 3'53
4. Tan Lejos, Esta Tarde (So Far, This Afternoon…) 4:41
5.-6. Medley — Consuelo (Consolation) 3'39 ~ Cuerpo (Body) 2'03
7. Grito (Shout) 4'05'
8. Sin Pena Ni Gloria (Without Pain Nor Glory) 5'40
9. Pobre Lago (Poor Lake) 2'54
10. Proa Al Infinito (Prow Towards The Infinite) 4'48

Total time – 39:59

Added: March 7th 2005
Reviewer: Elias Granillo
Related Link: Viajero Inmovil Records
Hits: 3778
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by