Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Arctic Circle: Where Ice Meets Ocean

Here’s a band that hits close to home. Arctic Circle hail from Brandon, Manitoba and have been around since 2001, beginning as a black metal project. They have released four albums thus far including their latest album titled Where Ice Meets Ocean. Their music has been dubbed ‘bush metal’ and though I have no idea what that actually means I will say this album sounds pretty rough around the edges especially in the vocal department. The lyrics are mainly yelled which doesn’t really do it for me although this does give the album an energetic ‘live’ feel. The guitar riffs are heavy and loud with varying tempos. The bad part is some of the tempo changes come across as fairly clumsy. That’s not to say this album is unlistenable but I hope their next effort will produce better vocals and smoother transitions. On the plus side I did like the guitar soloing in “Change The Wave” as well as the urgent tempo and riffs in the energetic “Onanole”. I will put this one in the listen before you buy category and leave the rest to you.

Track Listing:
1. Cosmic Egg
2. Big Heavy Door
3. Madness Powder
4. Change The Wave
5. Oracle Bones
6. Onanole
7. Firebird Over Falcon Lake
8. Into One

Added: November 28th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Facebook Page
Hits: 816
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by