Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Coma Rossi: Coma Rossi

Coma Rossi are a five piece progressive rock band from Bangalore, India, and they are set to release their self-titled debut which contains eight songs steeped in haunting melodies, heavy riffs, and tons of atmosphere. The band consists of:

Gaurav Govilkar - Guitars
Udayan Kashalikar - Bass & Vocals
Juby Thomas - Keyboards
Tom Borah - Vocals
Anupam Panda - Drums

Opening track "Mirage" sets the stage for the album, sounding not unlike Opeth's recent output, and most certainly their Damnation album, as dreamy keyboards and Borah's soaring vocals float above some guitar crunch, instantly bringing to mind Mikael Akerfeldt & Company. "Transmission" has more of an electronic feel, bubbling keys and tight grooves laying a foundation for passionate vocals, a great tune for any Anathema fan, while " Jomolungma Is Far Away" sees the first appearance of some ethnic Indian sounds amid gorgeous soundscapes, with the occasional moments of metal bombast bursting through the tranquility on this engaging instrumental track. After the soothing ambient/pop track "Yellow Escape" comes the near 14-minute epic "Dream", a shimmering mix of prog, folk, electronica, and pop, Borah again sounding like Akerfeldt with his rich, melodic vocals, surrounded by plenty of lush instrumentation. Aggressive guitar riffs and spacey synths punctuate "Stillborn", as bursts of metallic energy mesh with gorgeous piano and jazzy guitar lines, a trend that continues on the hard rocking "Turn Back Time", which features a wealth of guitar thunder and impressive vocals. Closing number "Lost" brings out acoustic guitars and shimmering keys, a slow builder that eventually sees an explosive synth solo and hard charging electric guitar riffs flying over dramatic rhythms before closing out on a pastoral note with some stinging guitar solos.

Really good stuff here on this debut, Coma Rossi signaling their arrival in a big way into the world of modern progressive rock. Seek this one out!

Track Listing
01 - Mirage
02 - Transmission
03 - Jomolungma Is Far Away
04 - Yellow Escape
05 - Dream
06 - Stillborn
07 - Turn Back Time
08 - Lost

Added: November 23rd 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1411
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by