Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Light Freedom Revival: Truthonomy

Vancouver singer/songwriter John Vehadija is back with his Light Freedom Revival (LFR) project and their second disc titled Truthonomy, the follow up 2017’s Eterniverse Déjà Vu. All the musicians who appeared on the first album are back including Marisa Frantz (harmony vocals), Eric Gillette (electric guitar), Oliver Wakeman (piano, keys) and Billy Sherwood (bass and drums) as well as their latest addition Jamie Glaser (acoustic guitars).

Like the first album this is a conceptual piece somewhere along the lines of the search for truth, hence the album title. Spirituality is a major component and there is no doubting Vehadija’s faith runs deep.

In my review of their first album I mentioned the melodic component of the songs was at a very high level and it is the same with Truthonomy. Vehadija has a laid back melodic voice that is very nice to listen to as are the sublime harmony vocals of Frantz. The word ‘heavenly’ comes to mind. There is also a stellar cast of musicians but their playing is a bit more subtle than you might expect. Often it’s in the background as much of the focus is on the story and words. So, although the playing is tasty it is quite reserved as well. Glaser’s acoustic guitars are more up front and are certainly a highlight in many of these tracks. There are no tracks under five minutes with the longest being the album ending title track at sixteen minutes. The music is exceptionally played and the melodies very nice but I would have liked to have heard more instrumental fireworks on a track of this length. The vocals are still top quality and the sound quite poignant although there are a tad too many words for my liking.

So what you get with Truthonomy is very pleasant melodic rock with wonderful vocal arrangements and classy musicianship. Just don’t expect a lot of solos because you won’t find that here. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Lies No More (5:21)
2. Caravan (5:07)
3. Lady Marian (5:59)
4. Jesus With A Guitar (5:59)
5. Allah Is Cool (8:56)
6. Emma (6:31)
7. Judgement Day (6:03)
8. Arcadia (5:50)
9. Truthonomy (16:04)

Added: November 21st 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1150
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by