Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Revocation: The Outer Ones

Boston's tech/death/thrash metal veterans Revocation have yet again delivered another winner for their label Metal Blade Records, The Outer Ones once again displaying why these guys are one of the most respected acts out there with their well thought out, impeccably constructed extreme metal. Lead vocalist & guitarist David Davidson is the sole remaining founding member at this point, but his vision is clear and the current band, guitarist Dan Gargiulo, bassist Brett Bamberger, and drummer Ash Pearson, are along for every step of the way as the band continues to create punishing new music that also offers plenty of dynamic musical explorations that dip into both prog & jazz.

The Outer Ones, from a musical standpoint, is impeccable, and a pleasure to listen to. Just check out that wonderful jazzy break in the middle of the brutal "Blood Atonement", or the blazing, tasteful shred guitar solos that permeate the dramatic thrash attack of "Of Unworldly Origin" for just a small sample of this bands talents. "Fathomless Catacombs" features a never ending assortment of intricate riffs and blazing drum work, with Davidson's gutteral growls & screams flying over the top. The off-kilter, crushing riffs of the title track, the mid tempo attack of "Vanitas", and the absolutely jaw dropping progressive metal instrumental "Ex Nihilio" are just a few other examples of the superb musicianship on this album, Revocation's delivery seemingly effortless as they hit the lister with a barrage of extreme metal that is as brutal as it is classy. Don't miss the lengthy closer "A Starless Darkness" either, which is chock full of some of the albums heaviest guitar riffs and Davidson's doom laden death growls.

Overall, another impressive outing from Revocation, who continue to show that they are one of the most talented acts in all of extreme metal.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Of Unworldly Origin 04:29
2. That Which Consumes All Things 05:29
3. Blood Atonement 04:44
4. Fathomless Catacombs 05:34
5. The Outer Ones 05:42
6. Vanitas 05:54
7. Ex Nihilo 04:24
8. Luciferous 04:49
9. A Starless Darkness 07:15

Added: November 17th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 807
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by