Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lundberg, Jonathan: Iterations

I first became familiar with Swedish drummer Jonathan Lundberg’s work upon hearing his debut album Nebula released in 2013. I quite liked Lundbergs’ brand of jazz fusion and he continues his aspirations on his sophomore effort Iterations released in 2017. My apologies to the artist for this review to be so delayed. On his previous effort he sought the help of many of his fellow countrymen as well as a few international guests and he continues down that path with Iterations.

Extremely well played progressive/jazz fusion, quite smooth at times with moments of unmitigated creativity. In other words the musicianship is superb throughout the album’s eleven tracks. The mix of jazz and fusion is pretty even beginning with the first track “Antikhytera” beginning with a gentle keyboard motif and gentle wisps of percussion. It’s an easy flowing dreamy sound. The lead guitar of Calle Stålenbring is clean and tasty as are the vibe-like keyboards. “Bermuda” is a bit more punchier fusing fast paced rhythms and excellent drum work. Kristian Kraftling’s keyboard solo is also superb. One of the more creative pieces has to be the progressive fusion of the aptly titled “Freak” featuring keyboard maestro Derek Sherinian. Off kilter rhythms and wild tempo changes is the backdrop upon which Sherinian’s slightly distorted keyboards let loose bringing to mind his old band Planet X. The most deliciously catchy track might be the funky fusion of “Evolution” with its irresistible beats and sax explorations courtesy of Masato Honda. The playing is fast and tight on “Prim” featuring more outstanding keyboards form Sherinian and a great bass solo from the fleet fingered Hadrien Feraud. Oh yeah, I can’t forget to mention the biting lead guitar of Erik Linder who also appeared on Nebula. The album ending “Wedjat” is a solid slice of jazz fusion again utilizing the supreme talents of Sherinian along with guitarist Carl Mörner Ringström who also played on the debut.

Progressive/jazz fusion doesn’t get much better than this. If you missed this in 2017 you should definitely check it out now. Simply outstanding!

Track Listing:
1. Antikhytera (5:34)
2. Bermuda (7:16)
3. Freak (5:40)
4. Evolution (5:33)
5. Behind the Moon (6:49)
6. Titan (5:37)
7. One Small Step (5:58)
8. Muted (6:17)
9. Shinjuku Panda (4:44)
10. Prim (5:33)
11. Wedjat (5:16)

Added: October 28th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artst's Facebook Page
Hits: 803
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by