Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Downriver Dead Men Go: Departures

Downriver Dead Men Go hail from Leiden, Netherlands and have been around since 2010 as an offshoot of the rock band Catlin. They released their debut album Tides in 2015 and have returned with the follow-up album Departures.

The players are:

Gerrit Koekebakker (vocals, guitar)
Michel Varkevisser (guitar, backing vocals)
Fernandez Burton (bass guitar)
Manuel Renaud (drums)
Remco den Hollander (keyboards)

Post rock, post progressive rock or art rock, pick any label you like, this is some pretty cool stuff. A word of warning though, this music is more than a little depressing, or maybe even a lot depending on your point of view. This is mood laden music, very unsettling and at times even morose but the playing and melodies are really quite beautiful offsetting the dourness the overall themes invoke. This really goes towards the lyrics as well as they may not take you to your happy place and nor is it meant to. The first track “Lamentation” begins with moody and unsettling effects as gentle guitar strums and washes of keyboards offer a more soothing calm. Quite an ambient and tranquil track almost bordering on new age. With “Mother” the atmospheric elements are again present although this one has more of a post/art rock vibe with great vocals and lovely guitar work. “Loneliest of Creatures” begins with moody keyboard and guitar notes followed by a pretty cool low end supplied by keyboards and bass. The Gilmour inspired guitar solo while short, is an album highlight. “Prison Walls” has an intense wall of sound before a muted riff and a pretty melody unfolds. A beautifully constructed lead vocal and moody guitar work followed by unleashed heaviness gives this track extra dynamics. Throughout the album these post rock and artful elements combine to totally immerse oneself with the music. This isn’t about how fast these musicians can play but how they can impact the listener on an emotional level.

This is really nice stuff from Downriver Dead Men Go. I’m glad I found out about this band thanks to Freia Music. I recommend you check them out.

Track Listing:
1. Lamentation (4:04)
2. Mother (7:15)
3. Loneliest of Creatures (7:53)
4. Prison Walls (8:10)
5. Home (8:01)
6. Uncertainty (14:00)
7. Departures (8:48)
8. Familiar Face (6:13)
9. To Have And To Hold (4:23)

Added: October 27th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1129
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by