Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

EOM: Departure

Explosion of Mind, now just EOM, is a project led by American guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Ova Banchu. Over the last two or three years I have reviewed a couple of Explosion of Mind albums and I was interested to see how the artist has further developed his sound.

Beginning with “I Think I Know” this is a very strange and eclectic album. The heavy beat and underwater bass sounds makes for some unusual sounds. Just the guitar is featured on “Mortal Flesh”. A bit of Spanish flair with fast strumming and picking but also slower tempos as well. I am not a fan of the next track “Bad Boy” due to the rap-like shouted vocals. On “Melody M.” the music is pretty good, like the really fast riffs, but the guitar is mixed so high and the drums so far down it all sounds a little off.

My favourite track on the album is “Vista” with its swirling psychedelic guitar work.

Banchu also includes a couple of tracks featuring his friend Mike Dapore of the band Om Spectre. “Who Do You Talk To” and “Inner G” are both raw and quite heavy and feature some pretty good guitar work from Dapore although the sound quality isn’t great.

The last six tracks tell a story about the ‘Adventures of Buzz Beaver & Mike’. While I appreciate the artist is showing his sense of humour I can’t say I enjoyed listening to this string of six songs. Musically it’s okay, pretty heavy at times but the talking chipmunk style vocals just didn’t do it for me.

So this is a mixed bag. The album is pretty rough from a recording stand point and some of the songs just weren’t in my wheel house although I thought “Vista” to be an excellent track. Oh well, you can’t win them all.

*Album cover photo not available at this time*

Track Listing:
1. I Think I Know (2:09)
2. Mortal Flesh (a guitar solo) (3 :19)
3. Bad Boy (3 :07)
4. Melody M. (2:33)
5. Spirit of Love (demo) (2:08)
6. Vista (3:12)
7. Who do You Talk To (2:16)
8. Inner G (9:27)
9. Dam Beer (4:33)
10. Metal Blitz (4:03)
11. Commercial Buzz (3:24)
12. Mike & Martha (5:02)
13. Dam Beer (#2) (7:10)
14. Mike & Rocky (4:46)

Added: October 13th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist On Amazon
Hits: 607
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by