Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pretendo: Pretendo

Pretendo starts out their self-titled CD with a kind of President of the US groove. The CD is made up of very catchy, quirky, pop-oriented rock songs. The bass and guitar riffs have an alternate rock sound, with some good harder feel that might remind you of Smash Mouth.

Devon Levins and John Castro both have a progressive rock background, but they shed that style for this straight-ahead rock outing. Pretendo lacks much originality and neither Levins nor Castro have dominating vocals. The bass playing of Castro works really well with the drumming of Stephen Calhoon, but this rhythm section can't overcome the bland song writing of Pretendo.

This is a trio of musicians having fun while playing and recording. And that feeling is evident in the music. If you are looking for something in the early Dada or Mysteries of Life vein, this would fit in, although with inferior vocals. But if you are looking for anything challenging, either musically or lyrically, you might want to pass Pretendo by.

Track Listing
1) mc Hot Chef (4:04)
2) Samurai Sessions (2:46)
3) The Scorpions (4:30)
4) Never Trust A Waitress (4:47)
5) Harbor (3:35)
6) 8 Painters Green (5:34)
7) Cherry Tomatoes (4:28)
8) Young Ones (5:21)

Added: March 2nd 2005
Reviewer: Steve Ambrosius
Related Link: Pretendo
Hits: 2342
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by