Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mind Abduction: Comet

Here’s another new platter from Scandinavia, namely Finland and the band Mind Abduction led by guitarist/vocalist Tuomas Père. The album is titled Comet and is their second overall. Their debut titled Monolith came out in 2014. The band has been around since 2003 so they have had a considerable amount of time to evolve their sound. The music is melodic progressive/death metal and is really quite catchy. In order for you to appreciate this disc growling vocals will have to be, at the very least tolerated.

The first track “Welcome” is a bit of a lost opportunity, a short collage of assorted sounds; voices, birdsong, nature elements that build to considerable volume into a cacophony of random sounds. I thought they might have extended the piece adding other instruments to augment the effects. The album proper begins with “Spring” where a short bit of programming immediately leads into heavy riff progressions. The guitar explorations are quite technical at times demonstrating the band certainly has an abundance of talent. The mix of death growls and clean vocals has similar characteristics to what Opeth was doing a few albums ago. More intensity can be heard on “Wavelengths” with the melodic shredding of guitarist Jussi Hautamäki standing out. The title track tones things down for the first couple minutes before letting loose with growling vocals and hard hitting guitar. An excellent track to be sure. “Blindfold” charges out of the gate with heavy chords and galloping drum action. More nice guitar work from both Hautamäki and Père makes for another catchy track.

Comet a very good album but I also think the band could have taken a few more chances with sound exploration. Maybe more keyboards would have helped in that regard. That said, Mind Abduction are doing a lot of things right; fine vocals (both clean and growls), excellent melodies and solid musicianship. At the end of the day that’s pretty good in my book.

Track Listing:
1. Welcome
2. Spring
3. Wavelengths
4. Comet
5. Blindfold
6. Streams
7. Ocean Of Stone
8. The Fields

Added: October 7th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 769
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by