Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Monnaie De Singe: The Last Chance

Monnaie De Singe (MDS) is a French progressive rock band who released their first album Inchivala in 2001 followed by releases in 2004, 2009 and 2015, culminating with their latest album titled The Last Chance in March of this year. This is the first I have heard of the band so I had no idea of what to expect with this new platter.

First of all a little about the concept. As might be inferred by its title, the album discusses our planet’s future and how humanity will cope with the inevitable task of cleaning up the mess. All hope is not lost, there is still a chance (pun intended) for us to steer the course and correct our problems before it is too late.

Okay, on to the music. This is an incredible moody and textural album so don’t expect a light affair. I have read references to Porcupine Tree and while that is partly true the actual music is quite different. Guitar and keyboards are of equal importance and create the mood laden soundscape for vocalist Rumin-Montil to spin her stories. She has a nice voice, a good fit for the band’s ultra-moody constructs. The use of effects adds another component, more electronic and modern and just really cool to listen to.

“I Am” begins the disc and is a good indicator of the band’s sound. An effects laden atmosphere with heavier guitar interjected, cutting through the dreaminess with Rumin-Montil’s vocals setting up the story. It’s important to note the music doesn’t take a linear path as the song runs through a variety of turns making the journey an exciting prospect. The riffs soar, the keyboards build and the electronics are smoothly incorporated into the band’s sound seamlessly. On “Seven Billion Dreams” the erupting guitar bursts and dense orchestrations are very effective. The occasional use of robotic vocals is a nice touch. As the title would suggest, “Emergency” expertly crafts a heightened drama with electronics, riveting guitar chords and precision drumming.

One of the darkest tracks is “Earth” where the mood is dense and heavy. A beginning of electronics, spacey atmospherics and distorted guitar sets the mood. A driving rhythm and evocative lyrics along with intense waves of electronics had me completely enraptured.

The title track weaves darkly hued keys and guitars underneath melancholic vocals and urgent stick work. The synthesized vocal parts are suitably dark.

Really, this has been one of the nicest surprises of 2018. A disc where art rock, alternative rock and modern electronics coalesce, create music that should connect with many progressive music fans near and far. Highly recommended.

In the band are:

Anne-Gaëlle Rumin-Montil (voices)
Serge Combettes (bass guitar)
Philippe Chavaroche (keyboards)
Eric Farges (drums)
Christophe Laporte (guitar)
JPhiippe Moncanis (guitar)

Track Listing:
1. I Am
2. Seven Billion Dreams
3. Emergency
4. Earth
5. The Last Chance
6. Not Under Fifty
7. December 3003
8. Magic Tree
9. My Lucky Star
10. Happy Birthday

Added: September 30th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Facebook Page
Hits: 1128
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by