Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Head With Wings: From Worry To Shame

Connecticut based duo Head With Wings have been around for a few years and released their debut EP Living With The Loss in 2013. The band is back with their first full length platter titled From Worry To Shame. As these titles suggest, although I cannot speak for their first release, the music covers some weighty issues some of which everyone will have to go through sooner or later.

This may sound like a precursor for depressing sounds but that really isn’t the case. Sure there is an aura of melancholia around some of these tracks but the dynamics and pure beauty of the music cannot be overstated.

The disc’s first track is the fabulous “Goodbye Sky”. The title is unsettling to say the least and the beginning guitar arpeggios while clean and crisp are just a little sad. The lead vocals are gentle and soft, a high point throughout the album. The music takes on a more urgent tone with crunchy guitar and powerful drumming only to stop on a dime, back to a gentler atmosphere. The tempo varies throughout the piece, the music building into heavier forms before returning to calmer waters. Through it all the gorgeous melodies stand out making this a great way to begin the album. On “Somewhere Something Gives” the vocals have a bit of angst and the spacey slide guitar is an album highlight. With “In Memoriam”, the lyrics may force you to relive some painful memories that belie the up-tempo rhythms and catchy chord choices. The gentle motifs contrast with heavy bursts of guitars keeping the listener laser focused. With “Misanthropy” Corum’s lead vocals are very emotive and the guitar work, both acoustic and electric is moody and diverse. Some really nice guitar builds in this one. The title track offers some lovely moments of gentleness but also delves into faster tempos of high intensity and features another great vocal performance from Corum. Again, the guitar work is a highlight. The chiming guitar riffs add an almost poppy sound in the melodic “Stepping Stone” before the album ends with the thoughtful “Treading Lightly”, a gentle and sweeping track with heavier moments as well.

Although at times melancholic and stark with lyrics to match, Head With Wings have put out a winner with From Worry To Shame. I also commend the band for tackling some societal issues that many bands wouldn’t touch. A thought provoking and rewarding listen, both lyrically and musically. Recommended.

The players:

Joshua Corum (lead vocals, guitars)
Brandon Cousino (guitars)
Joe Elliot (bass, backing vocals)
Andrew Testa (drums and percussion)
Frank Sacramone (additional electric guitars)
Jamie van Dyck (additional guitars and backing vocal arrangements)
Ben Shanbrom (backing vocals)

Track Listing:
1. Goodbye Sky
2. Somewhere Something Gives
3. In Memoriam
4. Misanthropy
5. From Worry To Shame
6. Beyond The Wall
7. Stepping Stone
8. In Dark Motel Rooms
9. Treading Lightly

Added: September 30th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Facebook Page
Hits: 1184
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by