Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ivan Baryshnikov Quartet: Journey

Moscow born saxophonist has been on a journey, making his way from his Russian birthplace to Amsterdam and soon (if he already hasn’t done so) to New York City. Hence his debut album titled Journey. The album was actually recorded in NYC while taking a break from his studies where he joined with Marko Churnchetz (piano, keyboards), Ryan Berg (acoustic and electric bass), Samvel Sarkisyan (drums), Hiske Oosterwijk (vocals) and Mark Evich (vocals).

The disc is divided into three parts with each separated by a transition piece. The three sections represent Baryshnikov’s life in Moscow, Amsterdam and New York respectively. The first track “Beehive” is a nice way to begin the album with its bopping groove and melodic piano lines. The drum work is suitably complex by any jazz standard and the sax solo is brimming with groove and creativity. “Free of Duties” is a bit slower with a slinkier beat, low key piano and keys and nice sax work. “Go On” is notable for its piano and drum interplay and walking bass line. This is one of two tracks to feature vocals, provided by Hiske Oosterwijk who has a voice suited for classic jazz. This leads us to the first “Transition” piece, a short instrumental sounding slightly less organic but still with an easy jazzy flow of electric piano and languid sax. More swing can be heard on the excellent “Fever Blues” where Sarkisyan’s in the pocket grooves are really delightful. He is afforded ample opportunity to show his chops and he takes full advantage.

Ivan Baryshnikov has a great future and will be a fine addition to the New York jazz scene. Another artist that deserves to be heard. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Beehive (4:17)
2. Free of Duties (7:07)
3. Go On (5:38)
4. Transition One: Moscow ��" Amsterdam (2:44)
5. Fear Blues (5:50)
6. A Talk with the Ocean (4:10)
7. Moderate Breeze (5:33)
8. Transition Two: Amsterdam ��" New York (3:37)
9. Journey (6:09)
10. Song for Lev (4:27)

Added: September 25th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Offical Site
Hits: 781
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by