Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Rob Dixon Trio: Coast to Crossroads

Coast to Crossroads is the latest release from saxophone master Rob Dixon, an all-star affair that also features 7-string guitarist Charlie Hunter and former Herbie Hancock drummer Mike Clark, with guest contributions from Ernest Stuart on trombone. Dixon has played with Hunter's band quite a bit in recent years, so here the guitarist is returning the favor and has even produced the album. The results are pretty extraordinary, as Coast to Crossroads, which is meant to signify Dixon's live touring journeys from his home state of Indiana to both the East & West coasts, blends sizzling modern & classic jazz styles with groove laden funk.

Though this is listed as a 'trio' album, make no mistake about it, Stuart contributes mightily throughout, as on the super "Millions", trading melodic solos with Dixon while Hunter drops in bass lines as well as organ styled comps on his guitar. "Yo" is just raucous, foot tapping fun, while the grooves of "San Leandro" are just impossible to ignore, Clark & Hunter digging deep for some wild funk as the leader solos over the top. "Wishing Well" and "Black Mountain" are two other highlights, again, Hunter's riffs sounding so close to a simmering Hammond organ, his solos brief yet tasty, allowing Dixon most of the room to soar, while the quirky, complex ditty "Nag Champa" allows the veteran Clark room to flail away and show off his still formidable technique. The group even go for a more boogie styled blues shuffle on the engaging "Flat Tire Blues", another example of some of the variety found on Coast to Crossroads.

Overall, this is a really strong affair from these four musicians that should appeal to any modern jazz lover. Jazz, funk, and blues, and all with a lot of groove...this is a great album, don't miss it!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing 1. Yo 5:45
2. Memphis Bus Stop 5:30
3. Millions 5:28
4. California Love 6:29
5. San Leandro 5:15
6. Wishing Well 5:36
7. Black Mountain 4:57
8. Nag Champa 2:28
9. Flat Tire Blues 4:03
10. 87 MPH 1:42
11. It Could Happen to You 2:38

Added: September 23rd 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 856
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by