Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Projekt Gemineye: An Ordinary Day

As a reviewer its always exciting for me to review bands and artists from my home country of Canada. Here we have the first solo album from Toronto’s Mark Anthony K (aka Projekt Gemineye) titled An Ordinary Day.

This is another artist I was completely unaware of until I received his latest CDs for review. An Ordinary Day was released in 2017.

Many of you will be familiar with the so called ‘one man band’, as is this reviewer having written about many such artists the last few years. The landscape of the industry has indeed changed into a different beast causing musicians to find different ways and means to support their art. Mark Anthony K is one such artist and a fine one at that. The music is a mixture of symphonic/melodic progressive rock with the occasional nod to progressive metal. Anthony is clearly a superb musician with a good voice and keen sense of melody. Being the only musician this would seem to be a prerequisite in order to make great music and that is precisely what he accomplishes with An Ordinary Day. The title track begins the disc with a dark keyboard drone before guitars and added keys take the music into symphonic territory. Anthony’s vocals are very good with a softer delivery avoiding the histrionics that is the downfall of many vocalists. “The Future” is another catchy track with a diversity of soft and heavy moments. The keyboards and guitar are well played and the vocals excellent. Regarding his vocals a slight nod to Trevor Rabin might be a good reference point, especially during the chorus. “A Funny Feeling” is probably my favourite track as the nine minute running time gives room for the artist to explore some great guitar and synth riffs. Another excellent piece is the Floydy “The Journey”. The moody keys and guitar harken back to The Division Bell era.

This is a fine first effort that will hopefully impress others in the progressive rock community. Congratulations on an excellent disc!

Track Listing:
1. An Ordinary Day
2. The Future
3. A Funny Feeling
4. The Journey
5. Fate Unknown
6. Ride On

Added: September 23rd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 804
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by