Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sisare: Leaving The Land

Near the beginning of 2018 Finnish progressive rock/metal band Sisare released their second disc titled Leaving The Land. Their first album Nature’s Despair came out in 2013. The band is led by lead guitarist and vocalist Severi Peura who is joined by Timo Lehtonen (guitar), Hermanni Piltti (bass) and Rauli Elenius (drums). Looking at the instrument list you might have noticed a lack of keyboards. Now that could be a problem for some progressive rock bands but not this one. The dual guitars help much in this regard as the band use multiple layers and great grooves to keep one’s interest level high.

The disc begins with “Escape”, a great opening track. A soft guitar intro with Peura’s ultra clean vocals reminding me of Opeth’s Mikael Åkerfeldt. After a cool jazzy guitar break the music takes a heavier direction. The mix between heavy and light is completely captivating and the lead vocals are some of the best put to disc this year. There is a somber moodiness in “Mountains” and when the heaviness breaks out the listener should be completely hooked. The melodies are so powerful on this album I challenge anyone not to be enraptured. More of that Scandinavian melancholy lightly touches “Geno”, although never in a depressing way. I certainly hear some latter day Opeth and Pain Of Salvation in this one. With “Pace” the guitar riffs are just so addictive with a bit of post rock quality and those lead vocals, they continue to be a high point. The heavy and mellow textures combine wonderfully and the guitar soloing has a psychedelic undertone. “Shattered” is another psychedelic tinged song with more excellent guitar work and fabulous bass before the album comes to a close with “Perception”, a catchy slice of guitar based psychedelic prog.

All the tunes are six to seven minutes in length giving the band ample opportunity to explore their surroundings. The forty-one minutes go by so fast you will want to immediately play it again…at least I did. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Escape
2. Mountains
3. Geno
4. Pace
5. Shattered
6. Perception

Added: September 20th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 972
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by