Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ambrosetti, Franco: Cheers

Franco Ambrosetti has been wielding his trumpet for decades now. On the Enja label alone he has released fifteen albums as a band leader, his latest titled Cheers. This album marked a celebration and what better way to celebrate than to gather around with your friends at the Systems Two Studios in Brooklyn and make an album bursting with creativity. The album’s roster of musicians includes:

Franco Ambrosetti (flugelhorn)
Kenny Barron (piano)
Buster Williams (bass)
Jacj DeJohnette (drums)
John Scofield (guitar)
Randy Brecker (trumpet)
Greg Osby (alto saxophone)
Gianluca Ambrosetti (soprano saxophone)
Antonio Faraò (piano)
Uri Caine (piano)
Dado Moroni (piano)
Terri Lyne Carrington (drums)

An impressive array of musicians to say the least. Cheers represents an amazing display of musicianship that will turn more than a few jazz heads. Ambrosetti includes two originals amongst a selection of standards beginning with the classic “Autumn Leaves”. A hard bop groove solidified by daring drums and bass with piano filling in the spaces. Ambrosetti’s keen sense of improvisation is amplified over the course of eight minutes. Fiery sax and horn solos, classic jazz piano and a scintillating bass solo mark the original “No Silia, No Party” while you could hear a feather drop amidst the gentle drum caresses of DeJohnette and the delicate bass of Williams in the softly played “I’m Glad There Is You”. All the while Ambrosetti’s flugelhorn plays like a slow moving dream. More great flugelhorn and piano can be heard on the smoky jazz of “Bye Bye Blackbird” where DeJohnette’s groove is really something special and with “Drums Corrida” both drummers turn in a heated performance.

Ambrosetti’s improvisation and compositional skills along with great playing from all involved make Cheers essential listening for all fans of classic sounding jazz.

Track Listing:
1. Autumn Leaves (8:05)
2. No Silia, No Party (5:45)
3. I’m Glad There Is You (8:27)
4. Bye Bye Blackbird (8:56)
5. Drums Corrida (7:53)
6. Someday My Prince Will Come (7:15)
7. The Smart Went Crazy (8:34)
8. Midnight Voyage (6:52)
9. Body And Soul (5:28)

Added: September 20th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 949
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by