Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Robert Szewczuga Trio: Moonrise

Polish bass player Robert Szewczuga is one of Poland’s best jazz musicians and his debut album Moonrise proves why. Michal Rorat (keyboards) and Pawal Dobrowolski (drums) round out the trio. There are a number of guests as well including Apostolis Anthimos (electric guitar on 5), Krzysztof Maciejowski (violin on 1), Ghostman (vocals on 10), Jaroslaw Krużolek (vocals on 8) and Dawid Broszczakowski (keyboards on 1 and 8).

Moonrise is a superb effort, and given the fact this is a first album makes it all the more remarkable. Each player is integral to the whole and Szewczuga makes sure they are given room to exert their muscle. The first track “Intro (Landing)” begins with a serene bed of keyboards with a slightly sad tone. The six string bass is crystal clear over a cool keyboard drone. That’s when the violin enters adding new dynamics to the sound with wild echo effects and otherworldly explorations. Just a fantastic opening track. A moody soundscape of keyboards and bass begin “13”. The keyboards have a floating quality with a touch of reverb giving the sound a psychedelic touch. The ensuing electric piano solo and stunning drum work are alone worth the price of admission. At times Szewczuga plays his bass like a lead guitar and sounds great doing it. The funky groove of “New-Old” is no less interesting, especially the driving drum and bass patterns. The light and dreamy “….”, yes that is its name, features some great interplay between bass and drums. A lone bass figure begins the aptly titled “Apo” featuring guest musician Apostolis Anthimos who adds fantastic lead guitar throughout. The stabbing keyboard textures are also worth a listen. The catchy groove and keyboard solo in “Salseson” along with Szewczuga’s inspired bass work are ear catching as well.

Moonrise is a fantastic first effort with impeccable musicianship, great melodies and solid song craft. Consider it essential listening.

Track Listing:
1. Intro (Landing) (3:23)
2. 13 (8:40)
3. New-Old (4:43)
4. …. (4:44)
5. Apo (5:31)
6. Salseson (5:55)
7. Victoria (4:17)
8. The Middle Of Nothing (3:56)
9. Bachllada (4:40)
10. Trip + Outro (7:47)

Added: September 17th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Facebook Page
Hits: 1129
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by