Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Esbjörn Svensson Trio: E.S.T. Live In London

Esbjörn Svenssson was a Swedish born jazz pianist who became a stalwart in the Scandinavian jazz scene. He formed the Esbjörn Svennson Trio in 1993 and released their first album that same year titled When Everyone Has Gone. The trio never looked back releasing a string of albums before Esbjörn’s tragic passing in 2008. Sprinkled amongst the trio’s studio discography are four live albums including the latest titled E.S.T. Live In London.

This double set was recorded at the Barbican Centre, London on May 20, 2005. Most of the songs are taken from three albums; Strange Place For Snow (2002), Seven Days Of Falling (2003) and Viaticum (2005). The concert begins with a lovely slice of contemporary jazz titled “Tide Of Trepidation”. The beginning piano notes are somewhat wistful, very thoughtful and well-crafted as the song develops its easy going melody with the bass and drums in a near perfect synchronicity. On “Eighty-eight Days In My Veins” the piano slowly builds as the trio really gets their groove on before venturing into a sudden calmness. Beautiful stuff indeed. The contemplative and rather melancholic “Viaticum” is another great track. Highly listenable with another beautiful melody. There are seven other tracks including the sprawling seventeen minute “Behind The Yashmak” that are just as illuminating. The former track has the band delving into a more experimental nature with more great playing from all three musicians.

Besides the wonderful music presented the album also has pristine sound quality making this all that more essential to fans of piano led trio jazz. Highly recommended.

Released on ACT Music.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Tide Of Trepidation (9:51)
2. Eighty-eight Days In My Veins (10:17)
3. Viaticum (6:56)
4. Mingle In The Mincing-Machine (14:22)
5. In The Tail Of Her Eye (7:13)
6. The Unstable Table & The Infamous Fable (12:55)

CD 2
1. When God Created The Coffeebreak (8:53)
2. Behind The Yashmak (17:32)
3. Believe, Beleft, Below (7:24)
4. Spunky Sprawl (10:31)

Added: September 9th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 492
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by