Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Man From RavCon, The: Another World

The Man From RavCon, aka Mike Brown, has been making music since 2010. Before using his current moniker Brown formed and led the North Carolina power pop band The Ravelers for over a decade. In 2010 he released his RavCon debut titled Zombie Pimp Cowboys From Outer Space. I first became familiar with his music upon hearing his 2015 release The Puzzle Master and his subsequent 2016 release Strange Universe. According to what I’ve read this is where the music turned into more progressive territory. Both albums are very good so I was quite delighted to receive his latest album Another World.

Although the music takes a lighter prog approach this is probably my favourite disc by the artist thus far. Psychedelic, pop, electronic and progressive rock are touched upon making for a varied and cohesive listen. This is very melodic stuff as the hooks had me digging this album from the very first spin. The first track “Colossus” has a Kraftwerk feel featuring crisp electronics and keyboards before shards of guitar give the track a little more bite. It’s a catchy tune with a pretty nice guitar solo as well. “Satellite Flight” is a little moodier with nice laid back riffs and an overall chilled out vibe. The laid back grooves continue with “Max The Cat” laden with catchy guitar, flute and keys. On “Code Red” the multiple layers of sound include psych infused keyboards and lush Mellotron. The heavier vibe is most welcome here. More Mellotron highlights the pretty “Promised Land” this time reminding me of The Moody Blues. The title track has more of a space feel and the album ending “Pole To Pole” takes us back to the first track’s Kraftwerk-like aspirations.

Another World is a very nice effort from The Man From RavCon, pleasant on the ears and easy on the mind. I will certainly be spinning this in the days and months to come.

Track Listing:
1. Colossus
2. Satellite Flight
3. Max The Cat
4. Code Red
5. Promised Land
6. The Garden
7. A Peaceful Transition
8. Another World
9. Pole To Pole

Added: September 6th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 919
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by