Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cauldron: New Gods

Canadian metal trio Cauldron are back with their fifth platter of classic sounds, titled New Gods, once again for veteran label The End Records. As with their last record In Ruin back in 2016, Jason Decay (vocals, bass), Ian Chains (guitar), and Myles Deck (drum), Cauldron have once again done a fantastic job of crafting catchy songs within a bone crunching early '80s metal framework, dripping with dark atmosphere yet also brightly melodic at the same time. Decay's vocals seem more forceful here, perhaps these heavy songs letting more of his aggressive side come through, but he's still as melodic as ever, his voice not unlike Tobias Forge/Cardinal Copia from Ghost, which help give Cauldron's songs a very accessible tone. Tracks like "Prisoner of the Past", "Letting Go", and "No Longer" are instantly memorable, big fat riffing saddling up right next to soaring vocal hooks and instantly memorable choruses. "Save The Truth - Syracuse" is straight out of the NWOBHM playbook, performed expertly with some rock solid rhythms and inventive guitar work, while "Never Be Found" and "Drown" are just fun, galloping, fist pumping metal anthems. The one oddity here is "Together As None", a very commercial, late '80s styled power ballad with immediate hooks and generic riffs; it's a well crafted pop-metal tune that probably would have garnered plenty of interest in 1987, but sounds out of place here. "Last Request" closes out the album in furious 'Riot-meets-Armored Saint' styled fashion, the riffs crunchy, the drums pumping, the bass thumping, and Decay's vocals quite effective.

Ultimately it's another welcoming, easy to like album from Cauldron, a very accessible classic styled metal act whose music just keeps getting better and better. Great production values too, plus that way cool cover art...check it out!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Prisoner Of The Past 03:35
2. Letting Go 04:30
3. No Longer 05:09
4. Save The Truth - Syracuse 05:53
5. Never Be Found 05:04
6. Drown 04:50
7. Together As None 04:32
8. Isolation 02:47
9. Last Request 04:39

Added: August 25th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1332
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by