Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

High Priestess: High Priestess

I have been a relative newcomer to the stoner rock/doom metal genre but over the last couple of years I have been reviewing a fair amount of heavy stuff and really enjoying it. Who says the older we get the more mellower our musical tastes become. The California all female trio High Priestess represents my latest foray into stoner and doom.

In 2017 the band released a five song self-titled demo. That turned a few heads, so much so the band subsequently signed with Ripple Music. The demo became their official release in May with one added track. Band members include Katie Gilchrest (guitar, vocals, keyboards), Mariana Fiel (bass, vocals) and Megan Mullins (drums, percussion).

“Firefly” begins the disc building gradually with the guitar chords almost having a chime-like quality. There is an Egyptian sound here adding a certain exotic flair. The slow doom laden riffs add the necessary crunch having an hypnotic effect. A groovy jam unfolds with psychedelic elements thrown in as well. The tempo speeds up to end the song in dramatic fashion. “Despise” begins with a quiet, mysterious sound. Some lovely acoustic guitar work and fabulous wordless vocals. Again, there is a mystical quality at work, very cosmic and far reaching. Then the riffs come in a heavy, fuzz soaked eruption to go along with the more intense vocals. The vocals are excellent throughout the disc, both backing and lead. For the most part they are clean, sometimes dreamy, with occasional moments of intensity. With “Banshee” the heavy doom riffs begin immediately then ease off making way for some haunting lead vocals. As the groove develops the heaviness is again unleashed. I love the mixture of heavy with softer instrumentation. Again, the vocals are excellent. The disc ends with the mystic “Earth Dive” with its cool slow build, lovely vocals and soaring lead guitar.

High Priestess is definitely a band on my radar. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Firefly
2. Despise
3. Banshee
4. Take the Blame
5. Mother Forgive Me
6. Earth Dive

Added: August 1st 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 978
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by