Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Go West: Live Robin 2-2003

Go West, the British duo that had a Top 10 hit on the U.S. pop charts with 1990’s “King of Wishful Thinking,” must still have a solid following in other parts of the world. This CD/DVD combo captures lead vocalist Peter Cox, rhythm guitarist/vocalist Richard Drummie and their four-man band enthralling a sold-out crowd in 2003 at the 700-capacity Robin 2 venue in Bilston, England. (If you're curious, Go West still performs in England today.)

If you’ve had a shitty day, push play and don’t look back. Go West opens with the feel-good hit “Don’t Look Down” and has the crowd singing along by the first chorus. Throughout the 17-song set, peppy keyboards, impressive guitar solos and Drummie’s and Cox’s pure commitment to the songs make this an unexpectedly splendid listening experience. And it actually feels kinda good to hear old hits like “Faithful” and “King of Wishful Thinking” again. The DVD enhances this concert experience (despite the cramped stage and varied quality of the camera angles), and it includes an interview with Cox and Drummie plus a history of Go West.

Go West also demonstrates an ability to make a blue-eyed soul classic such as Bobby Caldwell’s “What You Won’t Do For Love” from 1978 sound like an original. And “The Tracks of My Tears,” co-written by Smokey Robinson that became a 1965 Motown single for The Miracles, is transformed into a sing-along ballad with Big Eighties overtones. Blues, soul, pop -- these guys play it all.

Don’t let preconceptions about Go West stop you from tracking this one down -- especially if you’re in a poppy mood.

Track Listing: CD + DVD
1. Don’t Look Down
2. Faithful
3. Eye to Eye
4. Glow
5. True Colours
6. All Day All Night
7. Innocence
8. Missing Persons
9. The Sun and The Moon
10. I Want To Hear It From You
11. What You Won’t Do For Love
12. Goodbye Girl
13. SOS
14. Call Me
15. We Close Our Eyes
16. Tracks of My Tears
17. The King of Wishful Thinking

Added: July 25th 2018
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Go West Website
Hits: 888
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by