Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eunomia: The Chronicles of Eunomia Part 1

The opening track is not a song but a creepy-voiced introduction of the tale of Eunomia complete with weird sound effects and fantasy tale set up. The next track is “Crystal Sword” which at over six minutes is an unusually lengthy song so early in the album. A good anthem is start with though with Helloween meets Europe musical leanings.

“Dark Horizon” is fully immersed with Helloween meets power metal but gives a better example of the type of story line and sonic direction Eunomia is taking. Nice idea with bring in some keyboards to broaden out the sound. And cool verbal script to connect with the opening introduction.

“Freedom Call” begins with more story script verbalized. This approach is definitely not common most concept albums use it in the beginning, maybe the middle and usually the end. Eunomia is breaking new ground with this arrangement. And I like the daring experimentation. But again another anthem is not called for. This is only the fourth song in the album.

“Glory of the King” is yet another six minute plus song but this is a mini-story on fire with strong guitar work and excellent vocals to move the story forward without anthems or verbal scripts. Easily the best track I have heard so far and positive proof of what Eunomia can be without the gimmicks. “We Will Not Surrender” follows up with a Phantom of the Opera opening vibe with a lush vocal and excellent lyrics. “March for Freedom” has a Twilight Force influence that drives the song with a stirring vocal and excellent percussion. It connects well with “Eternity” and veers towards a symphonic metal background not found on the other tracks. If I were to release a single this song would be the perfect cut. I haven’t heard that much power metal on this album until “Stand Up and Fight” which is a fine example of the band’s bonafides.

The final track is a verbal script meant to signal a sequel is in the near future. Which I welcome. However; some more thought needs to be put into considering shortening songs to help listeners digest the storyline better. Seven out of twelve tracks are over six minutes long. And while verbal intros and extros are par for the course they should be limited lest you begin to burden too many songs with their information. Let the song and the singer carry forth your message. When this is allowed this album goes places others have not tried. And for that my greatest compliments. Until next time.

Track List:
1. The Beginning 1:15
2. Crystal Sword 6:08
3. Dark Horizon 5:51
4. Freedom Call 4:48
5. Glory Of The King 6:21
6. We Will Not Surrender 8:18
7. March For Freedom 4:45
8. Eternity 4:32
9. Stand Up And Fight 6:10
10. Last Stand 8:27
11. Dangerous Times Ahead 9:56
12. Until The End 3:47

Added: July 24th 2018
Reviewer: Mark Antony Rossi
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1072
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by