Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Halcyon Way: Bloody But Unbowed

The albums opens up with the title track “Bloody But Unbowed” which immediately sounds like Dream Theatre mixed with Judas Priest. It’s an aggressive in your face wall of sonic force that makes you stand up and take notice. The next track “Blame” forges its own way to a more original beat but with a radio friendly rhythm.

“Slaves to Silicon” is an intelligent and timely song about over reliance on technology and employs a machine club vibe a la Nine Inch Nails to great effect. “Superpredator” again another epic track with machine club mixed with progressive metal emoting lyrics of about the dark side of humanity. The drummer of this band is astounding and really shows his stuff on these two tracks.

“Ten Thousand Ways” is a powerful song mid-way through the way that starts to speak to what I am hearing in this album: a new beginning for progressive metal that moves from mere staccato guitar work and also partners with limited symphonics and powerful drum solos. The lead singer is gifted but allows to his band to carry forth the song and gives them the space to do so in a great tip to muscular but mature musicianship.

“The Church of Me” is one of those short numbers that crunch and bounce and you swear you might be able to dance to it at a concert. I had to stop because I am writing this review but I impressed and find it hard to sit down. It’s just so damn catchy and entertaining.

“Burn the Summit” one of the last tracks on this surprisingly diverse and diligent album is a power metal tempo song in the spirit of Testament but with soulful harmonies that make it reminiscent of early King’s X with a decidedly super heavy speaker melting charm to it.

Halcyon Way is a band is watch for in the years ahead. They have the potential to be the next generation’s Queensryche by combining deep lyrical expositions along with a healthy hybrid of catchy progressive metal.


1. Devolutionize 1:46

2. Bloody But Unbowed 4:30

3. Blame 5:29

4. Slaves To Silicon 5:05

5. Superpredator 4:03

6. Primal Scream 3:17

7. Ten Thousand Ways 4:34

8. The Church Of Me 3:56

9. Cast Another Stone 4:01

10. Crowned In Violence 4:59

11. Burning The Summit 4:31

12. Desolate 5:56  

Added: July 14th 2018
Reviewer: Mark Antony Rossi
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 895
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by