Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kaipa: Händer (remastered)

By 1979, Swedish progressive rock act Kaipa were in turmoil, with guitarist Roine Stolt and bassist Mats Lindberg leaving the band, resulting in just the trio of Hans Lundin (keyboards), Mats Lofgren (vocals), and Ingemar Bergman (drums), left to put together their next album, to be titled Händer. Lindberg was convinced to appear on the album as guest bassist, and the band recruited guitarist Max Ahman as a full fledged member. When the album was released in 1980, it was clear that the coming of the new decade also brought upon a new sound for Kaipa. Gone were the sweeping, symphonic prog passages and complex arrangements, instead replaced with more vocals and mainly synths from Lundin, who ditched most of his arsenal of keyboards in favor of just two polyphonic synthesizers and grand piano.

As such, Händer is a very commercial, lackluster album that barely resembles the great Kaipa of old. The title track shows some flourishes, the synths atmospheric and Lofgren's vocals poignant, but there's no fire. "Regn" is one of two instrumentals, but it comes across as a very laidback Camel, and gives new guitarist Ahman little to do but a bluesy flourish at the end. "Staden Lever" is kind of catchy in a pop sort of way, and longest track "�"lska med mig igen" has somewhat of a late '70s Genesis or Peter Gabriel solo feel to it, with some nice grooves and cool synths, plus a sizzling guitar solo. "Med trasiga segel" closes things out and rocks a bit, seeming to predate Marillion's sound on their first couple of albums.

Pretty much a mixed bag, Händer doesn't have a lot to offer as far as exceptional material, but a couple decent tracks that will mostly appeal to Kaipa completists. As always, a nice job from Tempus Fugit on the remastered sound and packed booklet.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing

  1. "Antligen" - 5:25
  2. "Händer" - 6:12
  3. "Regn" - 5:42
  4. "Staden lever" - 4:14
  5. "Elgrandi" - 2:38
  6. "Krig" - 5:05
  7. "Alska med mig igen" - 6:45
  8. "Med trasiga segel" - 4:55

Added: July 14th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 833
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by