Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kaipa: Inget Nytt Under Solen (remastered)

Inget Nytt Under Solen, translated to 'Nothing New Under the Sun', was released in 1976, the follow-up to Swedish progressive rock act Kaipa's very fine self-titled debut for Decca Records a year prior. Once again featuring the line-up of Ingemar Bergman (Drums, Temple Blocks, Rattle & Vocals), Tomas Eriksson (Bass, Synth-Bass & vocals), Hans Lundin (Hammond Organ, Grand Piano, Fender Rhodes Electric Piano, Mellotron, Yamaha & Korg Synthesizers, Logan String Machine, Hohner Clavinet, Vibes, Marimba, Prepared Piano & Lead Vocals), and Roine Stolt (Electric Guitar, 6 and 12-String Acoustic Guitar & Rattle), Kaipa fine tuned their style, which incorporated elements of Yes, Genesis, ELP, as well as the booming Italian scene with bands such as Banco and PFM.

bit more vocal oriented than their debut, Inget Nytt Under Solen kicks off with the gargantuan multi-part, near 22-minute epic "Skenet Bedrar", a tune that is almost 'rock-opera-ish' in its delivery, but also an underrated gem in the history of large scale rock compositions. Lundin especially coming into his own vocally on this one, but with support from the band on backing vocals, this lengthy piece also contains a wealth of classic keyboard passages, nimble guitar solos, and complex rhythms. The rest of the album is made up on shorter tracks, most of the more pastoral nature, save for the majestic "Korståg", a wonderful instrumental with haunting Mellotron, Hammond, booming bass, and Stolt's stinging guitar lines. The closing title cut is a quirky piece that sees Kaipa's compositional skills really moving forward, using their Yes & Genesis influences but taking things to another level. Incredible Rickenbacker bass lines on this one, as well as tasty keys and guitar.

This new remaster from Tempus Fugit also contains a few tracks that were given English lyrics, sung by Lars Hoflund, but to be honest, the results are mixed at best. There's something about Lundin's vocals in Swedish that just works with this band. The booklet contains a wealth of information on the band, photos, and lyrics, and the remastered sound overall is quite good. If you haven't owned Inget Nytt Under Solen before, this is a perfect time to rectify that situation.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing

  1. Skenet Bedrar 21:41
  2. Ömson Sken 3:17
  3. Korståg 5:19
  4. Stengrodornas Parad 0:56
  5. Dagens Port 2:34
  6. Inget Nytt Under Solen 6:10
  7. Awakening/Bitterness 6:10 (bonus)
  8. How Might I Say Out Clearly 3:38 (bonus)
  9. The Gate Of Day 2:26 (bonus)
  10. Blow Hard All Tradewinds 6:18 (bonus)

Added: July 14th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 687
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by