Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Great Leap Skyward: Map Of Broken Dreams

Rising from the ashes of the band Knightmare comes Great Leap Skyward. Hailing from Australia, members of Knightmare, 4 Arm and Septerrus are being called something of an Aussie Metal Supergroup. Great Leap Skyward have taken a "Cinematic Progressive Metal" approach to their debut disc, Map Of Broken Dreams, an 8 track release that falls in line with the great Canadian Devin Townsend and his type of bombastic approach that meets aural spaciousness.

Map Of Broken Dreams is a multi-faceted, multi-layered Progressive Metal record that draws from many influences and creates an interesting tapestry of sounds and atmospheres. It walks across several different genres and blends them together in a Modern Metal way with its own individual spin. "Kindred" begins with an atmospheric intro that segues into a heavy pulsating riff and verse with haunting clean vocals and a huge sounding chorus, only to transcend you into another dimension of musicality and unclassification. "Junkyard Planet" is the complete opposite, opening with a hellfire of thundering of drums that transforms into spatial interludes and then back again to add yet another flavor of Metal from "Great Leap Skyward". Fans of bands like TesseracT, Plini and Periphery will be accustomed to these multiple progressive musical shifts within these 4:00-9:00 minute pieces of sculpted art.

Great Leap Skyward has re-branded themselves, as well as moving musically forward and opening up countless new dimensions to explore and their debut, Map Of Broken Dreams is an album that will be difficult to classify within one box. Songs are complex and diverse, as their great musicianship does not falter in their delivery. Gone are the more traditional Thrash Metal roots of their old bands, but what remains is that aggressive delivery that is more dark and explorative and that is now thrust into a new sound devoid of restriction.

Great Leap Skyward:
Jim Munro - Guitars
Matt McConaghy- Bass
Luke Besley- Vox/Guitar
David Allen - Drums

Track Listing
  1. Great Leap Skyward
  2. I Am The Black Matriarch
  3. Singularity
  4. Kindred
  5. Junkyard Planet
  6. Nuclear Winter
  7. Sepulcral y Sin Nombre
  8. Black Sea of Trees

Added: July 5th 2018
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1610
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by