Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

HIM: Razorblade Romance

After listening to 2003's Razorblade Romance a couple of times I can agree upon the praise that this band has been getting. H.I.M., which stands for His Infernal Majesty, have referred to their music as 'Love Metal'. This acclaim is duly given as I am enjoying this CD immensely. New bands tend to grow on me after a few listens. This was not to be the case with this one as when it first came out a few years ago it took no time at all. I feel the music of H.I.M. owes more to the likes of Billy Idol and Depeche Mode than to some of the heavy metal bands that might have led to their forming.

The disk starts off with the rousing "Your Sweet 666". It's a catchy number that brings you quickly into the world of H.I.M. "Poison Girl" and then "Join Me (In Death)" which is a personal favorite of mine follow it. "Join Me" also has a very stylish video which can be viewed at, and I recommend that you check it out. A number that surprised me most was the cover of Chris Isaak's "Wicked Game". I got a kick out of this one since I love the tune already. Hearing it from a little more metal side was interesting.

There are some slow numbers such as "Gone With The Sin" and "Bury Me Deep Inside Your Heart". The number "I Love You Prelude To Tragedy" to me combined Billy Idol and Peter Steele vocals which made it for an interesting tune. Numbers that did not intrigue me all that much were "Heaven Tonight" and "One Last Time". They are decent numbers, but just did not do it for me. I find the production on this CD excellent, and every song is accessible enough to merit a few listens. This review is of the import release that includes a couple of bonus tracks. Ville Vallo is a presence that draws the audience into his world of somber, lovelorn laden tunes. Joining Ville in the group is Burton, Gas, Linde and Mille on guitars, bass and drums.

Track Listing
1. Your Sweet 666
2. Poison Girl
3. Join Me In Death
4. Right Here In My Arms
5. Bury Me Deep Inside Your Heart
6. Wicked Game
7. I Love You (Prelude To Death)
8. Gone With The Sin
9. Razorblade Kiss
10. Resurrection
11. Death Is In Love With Us
12. Heaven Tonight
13. Sigillum Diaboli
14. One Last Time

Added: February 26th 2005
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Official HIM Website
Hits: 3189
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by