Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tremonti: A Dying Machine

A Dying Machine is the fourth release from Tremonti, the band fronted by Alter Bridge/ex-Creed lead guitarist/vocalist Mark Tremonti. It's also the bands first concept album, and features a story that involves a technology called a 'vessel', which is a lab grown synthesized human form that also contains a load of data, and these vessels eventually begin to want to break away from their human masters and this of course starts a huge conflict. Not only is this story the nuts & bolts of A Dying Machine, but Mark has also co-written a book centered on this same tale. If you've been following the Westworld TV show, no doubt this storyline will greatly interest you.

Those who have been following the Alter Bridge guitarist are surely aware that Tremonti offers him a greater chance to go into heavier metal territory as well as sing lead vocals, and he's in fine form here on this latest release. "Bringer of War" lurches right in, the band galloping right along in near melodic thrash territory, while "From the Sky" and especially the title track show off Mark's fine lead vocals and ability to write a catchy hook. Tremonti and his guitar partner Eric Friedman toss in a boatload of crunchy riffs on "Throw Them to the Lions", "Make it Hurt", and "The Day When Legions Burned", the band raging in fine thrash/power metal fashion, but it's the more melodic tracks here that actually surprise the most. "The First the Last" soars with wonderfully memorable hooks and Mark's potent vocals, "Take You With Me" could have easily sat on any recent Alter Bridge album and again, the hooks are many, while "Trust" is moody & reflective but with a can't miss chorus.

The more you listen, the more you'll love what's going on here, A Dying Machine containing all that's great about heavy metal and keeps us coming back for more. It's a concept album that totally works, but also contains great songs, which is one of the best combinations we could have asked for. Highly recommended!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. "Bringer of War" 4:53
2. "From the Sky" 3:42
3. "A Dying Machine" 6:19
4. "Trust" 4:39
5. "Throw Them to the Lions" 3:20
6. "Make It Hurt" 4:12
7. "Traipse" 4:23
8. "The First the Last" 4:41
9. "A Lot Like Sin" 4:32
10. "The Day When Legions Burned" 3:09
11. "As The Silence Becomes Me" 5:17
12. "Take You With Me" 4:20
13. "Desolation" 4:29
14. "Found" (instrumental) 3:57

Added: July 3rd 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1425
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by