Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Palais Ideal: No Signal

Palais Ideal is a German band from Germany consisting of John Edwards (vocals, guitars, synthesizers, programming) and Richard Van Kruysdijk (bass, synthesizers, baritone guitar, programming, backing vocals). Their debut album No Signal was released on January 18, 2018.

The music is billed as post punk/cold wave or as I like to say good old fashioned new wave with a shout out to the New Romantic age of the early ‘80s. I hear bands like The Cure, Joy Division, Sisters Of Mercy and The Psychedelic Furs. As you can see from the instrument list the music is very much in the electronic camp, lots of programmed beats and synthesizer soundscapes. Edwards has an excellent baritone-like voice, quite deep and resonating.

Synth blips and a synthesized drum beat begin the album opening “Crossfade/Dissolve”. The lead vocals have a Sisters Of Mercy feel and the synths shimmer and waver. It’s almost like being transported back in time to 1983. On “Stellar Mass” the sound is a bit more minimal with a big synthesized-like bass and swirling guitar chords. The guitar becomes more pronounced as the song moves forward. The band gets heavier on the pulsating “Deity” with the guitars packing more of a punch. Of course the electronics and synths are still there in spades. This is an excellent track. With “Remains” the band continue the heavier vibe with the lyrics quite dark. Some quieter parts ease up on the throttle building with synth walls of sound. Another cool track. The band have fun with the Iggy Pop/David Bowie penned “Funtime”. The vocals are especially cool. The band get especially moody on the dense and at times atmospheric “The Book Of Lies”, another fine track.

No Signal is a fun listen, especially for those who were into that late ‘70s/ early ‘80s new wave sound. I very much look forward to hear how their sound develops on their next release.

Track Listing:
1. Crossfade/Dissolve
2. Stellar Mass
3. Deity
4. Remains
5. Funtime
6. The Book Of Lies
7. Seen Missing
8. A Black Noise
9. Resistance
10. Invisible Eye
11. No Signal

Added: June 29th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 937
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by