Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gus G: Fearless

The former Berklee College of Music student, founder of Firewind and former Ozzy Osbourne gunslinger, Konstantinos Karamitroudis aka Gus G, has delivered his latest solo disc, Fearless (AFM Records), a melodic and heavy shredfest of a record. The 12 track record features the world class drum excellence of the mighty Will Hunt (Evanescence, Black Label Society, Skrape, Static-X, Tommy Lee's solo band) and vocalist/bass playing Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69, Unisonic) who with Gus crush on 9 songs with vocals and 3 instrumental tracks.

Fearless is the third Gus G solo record and it showcases the maturing of this respected guitar wizard. The songwriting, while still within his famed Power Metal type of genre, has grown and songs like the melodic and rockin' "Don't Tread On Me", shows this musical growth with hooks and a catchy chorus. Lead single, "Mr. Manson" features a dark riff to go along with the Charles Manson penned lyrics, while the album opening, "Letting Go", sets the pace with Will Hunt stepping on the double bass gas and super charging the kick off of this record. But as you would expect, the star of the show is Gus and that Jackson guitar of his. His playing is top notch and his tone just seems to get better and better with each release. Besides his excellent and tasty shreddie style of Euro-Metal leads, the 3 instrumental performances are worth the admission to the party. My favorite being the title track, "Fearless", with its sick multi-tracked clean intro that gives way to some slick and explosive guitar bombast. Guitar fans will totally dig this one.

One interesting twist on Fearless is the cover of the classic Dire Straits hit, "Money For Nothing". The cover begins as a true note for note rendition of Mark Knopfler's unique and instantly recognizable guitar riff that quickly takes a 180 degree turn with a heavy and forceful punch to the throat with a unique spin to this song. Along with a couple of modern touch ups to some of the lyrics and Gus G & company have done a really interesting version of this Classic Rock tune.

Gus G has been a very busy guy over his career with bands like Nightrage, Firewind, Dream Evil, Ozzy and his solo stuff, among others at still only 37 years old. He has always played like an old soul with the influence of Uli Roth, Michael Schenker and Gary Moore always shining through. This new record, Fearless, stays with that tradition and also lets Gus's own style, musical maturity and songwriting develop into a great release for 2018. This is a really solid record that is NOT just for fans of slick Shredfest guitar licks, but for Metal fans period. This is the best solo work from Gus G so far in my opinion.

GUS G. (Guitar)
DENNIS WARD (Vocals/Bass)

Track Listing

  1. Letting Go
  2. Mr Manson
  3. Don´t Tread On Me
  4. Fearless
  5. Nothing To Say
  6. Money For Nothing
  7. Chances
  8. Thrill Of The Chase
  9. Big City
  10. Last Of My Kind
  11. Little Ain´t Enough
  12. Aftermath

Added: June 27th 2018
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1030
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by