Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deafening Opera: Let Silence Fall

I have to admit to having forgotten about the German heavy progressive rock band Deafening Opera as it has been a while since I reviewed their previous disc Blueprint released in 2013. The band was formed in Munich in 2005 and released their debut Synesteria in 2009. Well, the band is back with their latest effort Let Silence Fall released in March, 2018.

I think the band has really upped their game with this new album. Apparently it’s a concept piece although little information is provided in that regard and I haven’t gone through all the lyrics as of yet. There is a melancholic thread running through the music, a bit like Riverside I would have to say. The moodiness is palpable with a fine use of keyboards and guitar to accentuate the band’s detailed sonic approach. The lead vocals of Adrian Daleore are another strong suit. He has a slightly baritone delivery and never tries to do too much, ideally suited for the band’s melancholic style. The disc begins with the short “Prologue”, with the keyboards displaying a delicate sadness. On “Deafening Overture” the moody keyboard drenched opening is interrupted with dramatic guitar riffs making this a pretty catchy slice of heavy prog. Light and heavy textures make “Down The River” another excellent track. The use of acoustic and electric guitar is very nice. The proggy rock of “Amber Light” is another mood laden piece tastefully executed with more soaring guitar work. More light and heavy shading can be heard on “The Tempest” with its minor keys and melodic lead vocals. The band’s political views can be heard on the alternative metal of “Sweet Silence”. The newscast certainly provides insight in that regard. The last track “Plus Ultra” is also the longest at over twelve minutes. The dreamy keyboards, soft vocal approach and tremendous guitar work gives this artful piece plenty of legs.

Let Silence Fall is a strong effort from Deafening Opera. Fans of moody rock music and heavy prog will want to give this a try.

Distributed by Soul Food Music.

Track Listing:
1. Prologue (1:23)
2. Deafening Overture (2:45)
3. Down The River (7:47)
4. Amber Light (6:23)
5. The Tempest (7:50)
6. Sweet Silence (7:45)
7. Sundown (6:29)
8. As Night And Day Collide (3:34)
9. Man And Machine (6:37)
10. At The Edge (7:19)
11. Plus Ultra (12:33)

Added: June 26th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 772
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by