Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Waters, Roger: Live Radio

By 1987 Roger Waters was well into his solo career post Pink Floyd having released his debut The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking (1984) and Radio K.A.O.S. (1987). On November 7, 1987 Roger Waters, backed by his Bleeding Heart Band, played the Colisée de Québec which was broadcasted on FM radio.

Doing a bit of digging it doesn’t appear this is the full concert as there seems to be quite a few omissions but what you do get are fourteen tracks of classic Waters as he and the band sound great. What’s cool about the disc are the different arrangements presented here as compared to the studio versions. Mel Collins’ saxophone work throughout the show is superb, especially on “Breathe”, which is incorrectly labeled as “Brain Damage”, the reworked “Wish You Were Here”, “Money” where his sax really does the talking and “Welcome to the Machine” with his sax taking the place of some of the synth parts found on the studio version.

The biting guitar in “Powers That Be”, along with an excellent backing vocal arrangement and the irresistibly catchy “Radio Waves” with Roger sounding as good as ever are the two tracks taken from Radio K.A.O.S. and they both sound great. The plaintive sounding “If” taken from Atom Heart Mother is always a good choice. Another highlight has the band rocking hard on “Eclipse”, which also includes “Brain Damage” (not labeled in the track listing).

Although this isn’t an official release I think Floyd fans and of course fans of Roger Waters will appreciate what Waters was doing here. Remaining relevant as a solo artist and of course ensuring those classic Pink Floyd songs are never forgotten. The subtle changes give these songs added replay value. Recommended.

By the way, the recording quality is quite good.

The players:
Roger Waters (vocals, bass guitar, acoustic guitar)

The Bleeding Heart Band
Mel Collins (saxophone)
Paul Carrack (keyboards, vocals)
Andy Fairweather-Low (guitar, bass guitar, acoustic guitar)
Jay Stapley (lead guitar, backing vocals)
Katie Kissoon (backing vocals)
Doreen Chanter (backing vocals)

Track Listing:
1. Radio Waves (5:42)
2. Welcome to the Machine (7:18)
3. Money (5:13)
4. In The Flesh (3:38)
5. Have A Cigar (3:19)
6. Pigs (Three Different Ones) (3:54)
7. Wish You Were Here (5:09)
8. Mother (7:30)
9. The Final Cut (3:34)
10. If (3:58)
11. Powers That Be (4:01)
12. Brain Damage (3:39)
13. Eclipse (6:49)
14. Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 1/The Happiest Days Of Our Lives/Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 2 (10:18)

Added: June 22nd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 320
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by