Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Chronosfear: Chronosfear

You’ve heard this story before… a young band with high expectations get together to record their songs, release an EP and then, well, you know, they disappear again. Only to reform years later with one original member and not many real links to what came before. So in reality it’s pretty inconsequential that Chronosfear formed in 2003 and then again in 2013, because even after that, and their debut EP, they folded again. Hence 2015 can be seen as the true starting point for this band of Italian progressive power metal men, who finally released their debut full length effort in April 2018. Drummer Michele Olni is the sole survivor of that journey, his new band now rounded out by four seasoned veterans from the underground Italian scene.

Leading from the front is vocalist Filippo Tezza, a singer with a rounded, pleasing style that isn’t maybe quite so comfortable when called upon to add a little grit and aggression to proceedings. However, in the main he’s a strong asset, as is keyboard player Davide Baldelli, whose contributions here are possibly the key to the Chronosfear sound. For while this band are a metal outfit, they fall into the area that the likes of Gloryhammer or Twilight Force do, where keyboards often take centre stage as they drown out much of the rifferama. That’s not to say that Eddie “The Spot” isn’t a talented fretsmith with a selection of fluid solos that mark him out as a man of no little skill. And yet, if there’s one thing holding back the likes of “The Gates Of Chronos” and “Faces”, then it’s that the guitars are all too eager to take a back seat and allow generous ladlings of synth to drown out their howl.

Still, with the snap and snarl of “The Last Dying Ember” and equally darting “Time Of Your Life” being reasonably fulsome in their progressive credentials, while still powering along nicely, it would be unfair to suggest that Chronosfear are completely impotent when it comes to putting the foot down and really letting go. As you’ll gather, for my taste, there isn’t quite the intensity required here to truly mark this debut out as something special, and neither are this outfit planting their tongue firmly enough in their cheek to raise a hearty chuckle. Hence while Chronosfear need to be respected for finally getting this debut out there, in truth, there’s still a little work to do to truly suggest that big things lie ahead. However, and even with all that in mind, this is a solid and entertaining debut and one that shows just enough promise to make me willing to hear more.

Track Listing
1. Clockworks
2. The Gates of Chronos
3. Symphonies of the Dreams Untold
4. The Last Dying Ember
5. Of Dust and Flowers
6. Faces
7. Innocent and Lost
8. The Ascent
9. Time of Your Life
10. Revelations
11. Homeland

Added: June 7th 2018
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Chronosfear on Facebook
Hits: 1191
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by