Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Airborn: Lizard Secrets (Part One-Land of the Living)

Lizard Secrets is part one of a planned trilogy by Italian power metal pioneers Airborn. “Who We Are” is the opening track and aptly titled since it precisely explains who this band proports to be which is a lyrical homage to Voi Vod sci-fi metal of the 80’s and music chiefly inspired by Helloween but with a much faster tempo. Great bands to cut your teeth on if you are going to build a three album concept set.

“Lizard Secret” is the second song and it refers to lizard alien creatures who are immortal. (If that’s actually the secret, sorry, I’m a writer; not a priest.) It’s a more refined example of Airborn crafting power metal riffs along more progressive metal leanings. In “We Realize” they successfully move to a thrash-like groove accompanied by keyboards. This really loosens things up especially with an outstanding guitar solo and properly-timed vocal narration that propels the story forward.

“Here Comes the Claw” is power metal gem of grit and growth. You can actually hear the band shedding its influences and coming into its own in a most spectacular manner. The musicianship of this track is superior to anything on the first half of the record. An excellent plan when considering it elevates the story line with a sense of drama and urgency. Definitely my favorite song of the album.

“Meaning of Life” and “Metal Haters” could be twins in that they have a similar song structure, rhythm and chorus call back; yet the guitar solo on “Metal Haters” is a joyful surprise and helps set them apart in the end. Those tracks set up “Defenders of Planet Earth” as the characters prepare for a lizard alien invasion of the planet. This song is the perfect end to the concept album. It sums up the story and mixes power metal and progressive influences in a most convincing concoction of sonic assault and social conscience. I’m eagerly looking forward to the next installment.

Track List:
1 Immortal Underdogs (Intro)
2 Who We Are
3 Lizard Secret
4 We Realize
5 Brace For Impact
6 Wolf Child
7 Here COmes The Claw
8 Land Of The Living
9 Meaning Of Life
10 Metal Hqters
11 Defenders Of Planet Earth
12 My Country Is The World
13 Cosmic Rebels
14 Heavy Metal Wars
15 The Hero
16 Return To The Sky

Added: June 2nd 2018
Reviewer: Mark Antony Rossi
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 934
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by