Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Squire, Chris: Fish Out of Water (remastered)

No offense to Rick Wakeman, who has a few mandatory solo albums that are prog-rock classics, but the best solo album ever released by a Yes member goes to the late Chris Squire for his 1975 gem Fish Out of Water. Along with Bill Bruford, Patrick Moraz, Mel Collins, Jimmy Hastings, Barry Rose, and Andrew Pryce Jackman, Squire created a truly 'Yes-like' album here in almost every way, featuring his excellent vocals, nimble bass playing, and the exceptional musical skills of his supporting cast. All that's missing are the acrobatic guitar talents of someone like Steve Howe, but honestly, you really don't miss lead guitars on this album at all.

"Hold Out Your Hand" kicks things off here, a lively, bubbly, prog-rock tune with a can't miss hook, the new stereo mix giving this gem even more clarity and punch, Squire's alluring vocal and lead bass just lovely, while over on the majestic "You By My Side" you get some gorgeous vocal harmonies, breezy flute, and Rose's pipe organ adding a nice touch towards the climax. Pryce Jackman contributes some tasty piano alongside Moraz' synths & blazing organ solo on the engaging "Silently Falling", another great workout for Squire's velvety smooth bass and irresistible vocals. Listen to this song build and build, Bruford's intense drumming picking up the pace while Collins' fiery sax collides with Moraz and his rampaging organ and Squire's machine gun bass riffing before a floating, atmospheric finale. Just remarkable. "Lucky Seven" is a jazzy number with plenty of hooks, Collins letting his sax snake in and out of the mix over some neat orchestrations and Squire's tremendous bass grooves, another tune that just sinks its teeth into you and never lets go. Album closer "Safe (Canon Song)" is 15 minutes of classical tinged prog rock, with some superb orchestral arrangements mixing in with the rock passages for a truly unique listening experience.

Over on CD2, you have the original stereo mix of Fish Out of Water, remastered here in 2018. Listening to these two back to back, you can definitely hear the differences in the mix. While the original is absolutely fine, there's a sparkling clarity of the new stereo mix that is instantly detectible. Also included are single versions of both "Lucky Seven" and "Silently Falling", the latter edited down to three minutes, as well as the two Squire/Alan White tracks from 1981 "Run with the Fox" and "Return of the Fox", two quirky, engaging numbers that often get forgotten in Yes lore. Esoteric Recording have also included a thick booklet with plenty of information on the history of Fish Out of Water along with photographs, making this new edition a must have for any fan of the late, great Chris Squire and Yes.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
CD1: Fish Out of Water - New stereo mix
Hold Out Your Hand
You By My Side
Silently Falling
Luck Seven
Safe (Canon Song)

CD2: Fish Out Of Water - Original 1975 mix
Hold Out Your Hand
You By My Side
Silently Falling
Luck Seven
Safe (Canon Song)
Lucky Seven (Single version)
Silently Falling (Single version)
Run With The Fox (Squire & White)
Return Of The Fox (Squire & White)

Added: May 27th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Esoteric Recordings
Hits: 1015
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by