Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tangerine Dream: Quantum Gate/Quantum Key

The electronic music world lost one of its innovators back in 2015 when Tangerine Dream founder Edgar Froese passed away just two years shy of the bands 50th anniversary. It was his wish however for the band to carry on without him, as they have, releasing Quantum Gate in late 2017 with a revamped line-up, and the band & Kscope are now re-releasing the album in a 2CD set along with the EP Quantum Key.

As Quantum Gate was in production at the time of Froese's death, he does appear on the album, along with his successor Thorsten Quaeschning (keyboards, synths, guitar bass), Ulrich Schauss (keyboards, synths), and Hoshiko Yameme (violin/cello). Meant to bring in a new era of Tangerine Dream, both the album and the EP are very modern sounding, littered with undulating rhythms and cascades of bright, cheery synth passages. In essence, not wholly different from past TD releases, but fans of electronic music will find plenty to love here. Many of the tracks are lengthy and don't distinguish much from each other, but seamlessly blend together and meant to be all taken together in one sitting. In other words, look to be engaged from a listening perspective from the entire set, rather than individual tracks. Sure, "Electron Bonfire", "Sensing Elements", and "Genesis of Precious Thoughts" contain plenty of musical highlights, but you'll want to just pop these discs on and take them all in as a whole. Sequenced synthesizer bliss!

Production values are top notch, as is always the case with any Tangerine Dream release, and with over 100 minutes of musical content, there's lots to enjoy here. Tangerine Dream lives on folks, so go ahead and pick this 2CD set up and celebrate!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
CD1 - Quantum Gate (70:46)
1. Sensing Elements (13:33)
2. Roll The Seven Twice (6:25)
3. Granular Blankets (5:03)
4. It Is Time To Leave When Everyone Is Dancing (6:36)
5. Identity Proven Matrix (5:18)
6. Non-Locality Destination (9:59)
7. Proton Bonfire (8:25)
8. Tear Down The Grey Skies (6:17)
9. Genesis Of Precious Thoughts (9:10)

CD2 - Quantum Key (32:41)
1. Genesis Of Precious Thoughts (9:10)
2. Electron Bonfire (5:03)
3. Drowning In Universes (11:04)
4. Mirage Of Reality (7:24)

Total time: 103:27

Added: May 21st 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1269
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by