Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Isproject: The Archinauts

Isproject is the Italian duo of vocalists Ivan Santovito and Ilenia Salvemini. They released their debut album titled The Archinauts in 2017. They are joined by Giovanni Pastorino (keyboards, programming), Simone Amodeo (guitars), Andrea Bottaro (bass guitar) and Paolo Tixi (drums). Special guest Martin Grice adds flutes and saxophones.

This album just might be the nicest surprise from 2017. It certainly would have made my ‘best of’ list if I would have gotten to it in time.

The band play modern progressive rock as tasty as it gets. Symphonic and orchestral moments, fantastic male and female lead and backing vocals, melodic and soaring guitar solos, softer melancholic sections and everything in between. The band incorporate twists and turns but never at the expense of the song. Although the musicianship is excellent this is not an album of excesses. Everything is put together with meticulous song craft and a great deal of care.

The first track “Ouverture” starts with a simple drone before the band kicks in with a thoughtful groove and an overall warm sound. Keyboards are interrupted by heavy riffs before some gorgeous solo piano. “The Architect” begins with wind effects and psychedelic keyboards. Heavier guitar textures lead to a rocking solo and heavier groove. The sound alternates between soaring keyboard sections and more poignant moments of introspection. It’s all very seamless and expertly crafted. Many change ups highlight the excellent “Mangialuce” with fantastic keys and synths throughout. “Lovers In The Dream” is a more contemplative track reminding me of Pink Floyd, especially the guitar work. More great synths can be heard in the part ballad, part heavy orchestral “The Mountain Of Hope”, another excellent track. The disc ends with the fourteen plus minute “Between The Light And The Stone”, simply an outstanding piece of melodic prog to immerse oneself in. Soaring sax, guitar, synths…folks it’s all here for any progressive music fan to enjoy.

What can I say? I make no apologies for my gushing review. I dig this album that much. Recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Ouverture (4:13)
2. The Architect (6:25)
3. Mangialuce (7:39)
4. The City And The Sky (4:57)
5. Lovers In The Dream (5:59)
6. The Mountain Of Hope (6:31)
7. Between The Light And The Stone (14:37)

Added: May 18th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1276
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by